SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8906 (Misses Top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 299 times 
Reviewed by:madbadger
photo

 
 
About madbadgerstar
DE USA
Member since: 12/26/12
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/14 2:30 PM
Last Updated:2/2/14 2:33 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8906 by madbadger

Vogue Patterns: 8906 by madbadger  Vogue Patterns: 8906 by madbadger  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8906
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Loose fitting misses top with front and back pleats.

Pattern Sizing: 8-24; I cut the size that corresponded to my measurements and it was a teeny bit big, but I believe this was due to a change I made & not the patterns fault.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? The pictures on the pattern envelope are awful, lol...it looked better than those, IMO.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the pleating on the front and the back. I wasn't crazy about the sleeves - they are probably fine for the short sleeve version but I think sleeves that are separate and sewn in would look better for the longer sleeve version. Also, I made view C, but I wanted shorter sleeves and the pattern for C didn't give that option - so I had to do it myself. Not a big deal, just annoying that Vogue couldn't have have taken the extra step to provide sleeve options.

Fabric Used: A cotton print that I've had in the stash for ages.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Because of the print I was using, I needed to eliminate the back seam (or attempt to match it - no thank you, lol). The back is in 2 pieces and with good reason as there is a bit of a curve at the lower back and really shouldn't just be cut on the fold. I figured since it was a loose fitting top anyway and there was pleating, I could get away with it - and I almost did...as it turns out, I didn't take out enough of the seam allowance when I cut on the curve and my back was a little too big, making the front gape slightly. It isn't so bad that I'll never wear it, I just need to be cognizant of it (and a camisole wouldn't hurt lol). If I make this again, I'll likely use something that allows me to leave in that back seam as it should.

I also tried (for the first time) to make buttons with the garment fabric (one of those little button making kits) - and had so much fun with it, I totally plan to do it again! (One of my pictures above shows one of the buttons)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would, but don't plan to any time soon...perhaps that short sleeve version in a bright red when warmer weather approaches. I would definitely recommend it to others. I would've overlooked this pattern as the pictures on the envelope don't do it justice. It was the reviews on here that inspired me to try it.

Conclusion: Very easy, quick to whip up top - can be dressed down or up.

Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Looks really nice! Love the button -aren't they fun to work with?
2/2/14 6:26 PM
threaddy said...
Thank you for the fitting info. This looks way better than I would have thought from the pattern photo. You were brave with your print for this but it turned out great. good job!
2/2/14 11:28 PM
Eva Suzanne said...
Looks really nice ...love the buttons too!
2/3/14 3:19 AM
Eva Suzanne said...
Looks really nice ...love the buttons too!
2/3/14 3:19 AM
LizJ58 said...
Nice. I had more difficulty with this pattern than you did. I may make it up again in a knit.
2/3/14 9:25 AM
JTink said...
Love the fit and love the print...great job.
2/3/14 1:46 PM
SewLibra said...
Fits you well and looks much, much better than the envelope!
2/3/14 7:54 PM
frame said...
I have to get this pattern. Your blouse looks very nice.
6/23/14 5:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Betz White 8.5.2010

photo
by: sanntech9

Review
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now