SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Named Clothing> 02-023 (Selja Knot Tee)

Viewed 274 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/14 11:30 PM
Last Updated:2/2/14 11:34 PM
Project Photo:Named Clothing: 02-023 by chenille

Named Clothing: 02-023 by chenille  Named Clothing: 02-023 by chenille  
Pattern Photo:Named Clothing 02-023
Named Clothing Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $9.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Linen Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
from website:
Relaxed, asymmetric tee with a knot detail
Straight-cut style with plenty of ease
Short sleeves
Pattern Sizing:
EUR 32 to 46 (US 0 – 14, UK 4 – 18)
I pretty much measure a 40, but sewed a 38 as I did not want as much ease and I was checking for shoulder fit. I would say that it runs true to size.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mostly, but I did not tie at my waist, and I drafted long sleeves. The pattern comes with a very short sleeve.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved that it was simple, casual, and classy.
You can print this on US standard paper - this is a change from their first collection.
I have read a lot of complaints about having to print and then trace these patterns, but I think it's a plus and it's something I do most times anyways in order to preserve my original. You print 2 sizes at a time, and most are on 12 sheets of paper, i.e. I printed out 36-38. I also like that the 3/8" SA is marked - I can use that to grade up or down as I need to without printing off an additional range.
No dislikes.
Fabric Used:
Linen blend knit - a JoAnns red tag fabric
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
none - this was my test muslin. Patterns are drafted for a height of 5'8". For reference, I am 5'4" and did not make any length adjustment.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I can see this and versions of as my go to tee shirt this summer. The front is in 2 pieces - color blocking!
Conclusion:
I have several of the Named patterns, but this was the first one I've sewn. I just love their style and they have done a good job of updating their pattern instructions as well as including all size ranges.
I wish I could have all the patterns in their new collection!

Available for sale on PR: $9.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Lovely. I have never heard of this pattern company. Thanks for the review
2/3/14 1:15 AM
Jrhee said...
Love this style!
2/3/14 2:59 AM
JNE4SL said...
It looks really nice. This was the first pattern I tried from Spring, too. I used the short sleeve which has a nice cut but was contemplating trying long to make something wearable now, yours works well. I'm 5'1" so I also wanted to test the length. It is longer on me but in a soft fabric it can pool at the hip a bit.
2/3/14 8:26 AM
Dee2 said...
Very cute top. The fit looks great & I like the changes you made with the sleeve.
2/3/14 8:33 AM
carrie18584 said...
So cute! I've been eyeing their new pattern collection as well!
2/3/14 8:41 AM
sewin said...
Love this on you. Looks comfortable and classy at the same time.
2/3/14 1:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Jalie 2909

photo
by: momtoesthe...

Review

Pattern

New Look 6097

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now