SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Named Clothing> 02-023 (Selja Knot Tee)

Viewed 271 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/14 11:30 PM
Last Updated:2/2/14 11:34 PM
Project Photo:Named Clothing: 02-023 by chenille

Named Clothing: 02-023 by chenille  Named Clothing: 02-023 by chenille  
Pattern Photo:Named Clothing 02-023
Named Clothing Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $9.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Linen Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
from website:
Relaxed, asymmetric tee with a knot detail
Straight-cut style with plenty of ease
Short sleeves
Pattern Sizing:
EUR 32 to 46 (US 0 – 14, UK 4 – 18)
I pretty much measure a 40, but sewed a 38 as I did not want as much ease and I was checking for shoulder fit. I would say that it runs true to size.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Mostly, but I did not tie at my waist, and I drafted long sleeves. The pattern comes with a very short sleeve.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved that it was simple, casual, and classy.
You can print this on US standard paper - this is a change from their first collection.
I have read a lot of complaints about having to print and then trace these patterns, but I think it's a plus and it's something I do most times anyways in order to preserve my original. You print 2 sizes at a time, and most are on 12 sheets of paper, i.e. I printed out 36-38. I also like that the 3/8" SA is marked - I can use that to grade up or down as I need to without printing off an additional range.
No dislikes.
Fabric Used:
Linen blend knit - a JoAnns red tag fabric
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
none - this was my test muslin. Patterns are drafted for a height of 5'8". For reference, I am 5'4" and did not make any length adjustment.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I can see this and versions of as my go to tee shirt this summer. The front is in 2 pieces - color blocking!
Conclusion:
I have several of the Named patterns, but this was the first one I've sewn. I just love their style and they have done a good job of updating their pattern instructions as well as including all size ranges.
I wish I could have all the patterns in their new collection!

Available for sale on PR: $9.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Lovely. I have never heard of this pattern company. Thanks for the review
2/3/14 1:15 AM
Jrhee said...
Love this style!
2/3/14 2:59 AM
JNE4SL said...
It looks really nice. This was the first pattern I tried from Spring, too. I used the short sleeve which has a nice cut but was contemplating trying long to make something wearable now, yours works well. I'm 5'1" so I also wanted to test the length. It is longer on me but in a soft fabric it can pool at the hip a bit.
2/3/14 8:26 AM
Dee2 said...
Very cute top. The fit looks great & I like the changes you made with the sleeve.
2/3/14 8:33 AM
carrie18584 said...
So cute! I've been eyeing their new pattern collection as well!
2/3/14 8:41 AM
sewin said...
Love this on you. Looks comfortable and classy at the same time.
2/3/14 1:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6092

photo
by: weekendsti...

Review