SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 9270 (Fashion Cut Patterns)

Viewed 144 times 
Reviewed by:SewJillian
photo

 
 
About SewJillianstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/21/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/2/14 11:51 PM
Last Updated:2/2/14 11:54 PM
Project Photo:Fashion Sewing Group: 9270 by SewJillian

Fashion Sewing Group: 9270 by SewJillian  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by SewJillian

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Totally not a Fashion Sewing Group pattern, how frustrating that we can't add new pattern companies or leave it blank at a stretch. So sorry guys, this is a Fashion Cut Pattern.

Pattern Description:
1950's pattern for sleeveless shirt and shorts. I made the shorts only.

Pattern Sizing:
Single-sized - size 34 Bust or 14. Bust 34, Waist 27 and Hips 38.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes it did. I left off the belt loops and centre front creases.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Instructions were sparse to say the least! I puzzled over the pocket construction for a while. There is no hand holding here so beginners need not apply

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the classic shorts and the "high" waist (otherwise known as "non hipster"). There are some nice little details like the pocket tabs that add interest.

Fabric Used:
A medium to heavy weight cotton sateen (with some lycra as it definitely had quite a bit of stretch).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made a few changes to the shorts.
- I took in 2 inches total at the waist side seams grading out to nothing at the hips.
- I interfaced the waistband (not instructed to do so) as the stretch in the fabric concerned me and I didn't want the waistband to distort or stretch irrevocably.
- I did not insert the waist of the the shorts between the edges of the folded waistband as I didn't want any top stitching. I sewed one long edge of the waistband to the waistline right sides together, then turned the waistband to the inside, folded under the seam allowance and then stitched in the ditch on the outside for a clean finish.
- I had problems with a very long and deep crotch (I did not do a muslin) but found a way to tailor the shorts post hoc to deal with it quite well. I detail the process at my blog if you are interested.
- I inserted an invisible zip, not a regular zip.
- I did not add belt loops/carriers. I rarely if ever wear a belt.

Some more photos can also be found on my blog.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think I could see myself working on the fit of this pattern and using it as the basis for some further shorts. I'd recommend the pattern, but not to beginners who may get lost without the hand-holding instructions more modern patterns offer.

Conclusion:
Love these shorts and nearly entirely made on my 1950 Singer Featherweight 221k. Vintage shorts on a vintage machine, happy days!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wildberrymom said...
Cute shorts--love the crotch fix. The back would probably be an easy fix by loosening the waistband from sides to CB and taking about 1/4-1/2" out of the CB and graded to the sides but few would notice the way they are. It would be a shame not to wear these--they are so cute on you!
2/3/14 4:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute shorts!
2/3/14 5:26 AM
SewWil said...
Love these vintage shorts!
2/3/14 9:53 AM
PammyJ said...
Very nice! :-)
2/3/14 1:10 PM
SewJillian said...
Thank you guys and thank you WildBerrymom for your suggestion for fitting the back waist. Only problem is the centre back zip. I'd have to remove that as well and re-insert. Hmmm, may be next time.
2/4/14 5:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2155

photo
by: Aroura

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
Burda 7739

photo
by: megumi

Review