SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5526 (Misses' Shirt)

30 more reviews
Viewed 354 times 
Reviewed by:mhoutz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mhoutzstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/27/04
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/14 10:52 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5526 by mhoutz

Butterick: 5526 by mhoutz  Butterick: 5526 by mhoutz  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5526
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Fitted shirts A, B, C, D, E have collar band, shaped hemline, below elbow or long sleeves with pleats, placket, button cuffs, front-button closing, topstitch trim and narrow hem. A: button trim on pleated pockets, long, rolled sleeves (wrong side shows) and button tabs. C: tunic length. A, B, C: mock front bands. A, B, C, D: collar. D, E: front bands and princess seams. E: flounce.

Pattern Sizing: 6-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? No, I used the pattern as a basis for what I wanted to make

Were the instructions easy to follow? This is my TNT top pattern. I have made it so many times, I no longer look at the instructions. They are, however, very good.


Fabric Used: Heavyweight ponte knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made Yes, I'm sure I'll use it again.

Conclusion: I was inspired by a French designer jacket and wanted to try my hand at "studding"! For more details and pictures, see my blog
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Wow! This so fine! You always make the coolest clothes!
2/3/14 11:28 PM
SewWil said...
That is one terrific looking jacket! Love all of the studs.
2/3/14 11:42 PM
marjieco said...
stunning studding. beautiful jacket. Impressive!
2/3/14 11:46 PM
cmcarr said...
Pretty. Looks like a lot of work.
2/4/14 0:21 AM
Aixoise said...
Quite an amazing creation. Everything about it works: the scale of the garment on you, the number of studs you applied, the patterns you created with them, length of jacket and sleeves. Wow. In awe. Who needs Isabel Marant?
2/4/14 0:55 AM
Lveeckgosden said...
Stunning!
2/4/14 1:14 AM
JudieL said...
What a stunning jacket! Beautiful.
2/4/14 1:52 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Absolutely amazing, you're rocking that jacket!
2/4/14 3:11 AM
grey ann said...
Fabulous. Love your choice of fabric and enjoying your showing the entire technique on your blog.
2/4/14 5:55 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
You are truly an inspiration. Your style and creativity never cease to amaze.
2/4/14 7:06 AM
VivianZ said...
Gorgeous jacket. What an inspiration!
2/4/14 7:20 AM
CSM--Carla said...
AMAZING rock 'n' roll, California surfer girl and insouciant Parisienne YOURSELF! Thanks for this inspiring review!
2/4/14 9:46 AM
Eva Suzanne said...
Amazing jacket ..love your creativity!!
2/4/14 10:12 AM
persevering said...
Oh my, this is awesome! I've on earth did you convert the shirt pattern to make this jacket! Yes, I've looked at your blog, admire your work, however I just don't get the basics of what you did. Thanks for showing and discussing your creations with us - you are inspirational! Thank you!
2/4/14 10:41 AM
persevering said...
Ooops....not 'I've on earth' but "How on earth"...:)
2/4/14 10:43 AM
carolynw said...
Definitely one of a kind. It is absolutely fabulous. You are so creative - enjoy every review
2/4/14 11:34 AM
sfshaza said...
Such a stunning creation, Margy! A real work of art!
2/4/14 9:21 PM
STARG said...
What a great jacket and a labor of love with 806 studs! Wow!
2/4/14 9:32 PM
TJSEWS said...
A masterpiece. Beautiful. You are an inspiration.
2/4/14 10:14 PM
becca a said...
This jacket is stunning!
2/4/14 11:44 PM
Danmar said...
Very inspiring! creative and chic
2/21/14 6:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now