SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8714 (misses vest and jacket)

6 more reviews
Viewed 379 times 
Reviewed by:brookski
photo

 
 
About brookskistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/10/14
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/14 1:58 AM
Last Updated:2/4/14 2:16 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8714 by brookski

Vogue Patterns: 8714 by brookski  Vogue Patterns: 8714 by brookski  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8714
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Close fitting vest or jacket. Lined, above hip, front princes seams, back darts, lower self faced sections, self fabric loop closures

Pattern Sizing:
12
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes, quite straightforward
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I did version C. No particular dislikes. I would prefer to have made the below waist section wider as the front of the jacket does not overlap at all. But that is just a personal preference.
Fabric Used:
A beautiful thick Italian cotton with digital print from Tessuti
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
No, because I don't need another similar jacket, but generally was pleased with the result.
Conclusion:
A straightforward, but smart, fitted, lined jacket. I think the vest version would be good too. I think my fabric would have been better displayed on a jacket without the waist section to allow for a larger sweep of the pattern to be displayed, but generally pleased with it.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjieco said...
Great looking jacket that looks wonderful on you.
2/4/14 3:16 AM
LTC said...
Great pattern and beautiful fabric.
2/4/14 5:31 AM
gabc said...
I recognise this fabric from Tessuti - it's a fabulous, unique jacket!
2/4/14 6:21 AM
LlanoGirl said...
Very beautiful fabric and great jacket!
2/4/14 8:03 AM
prttynpnk said...
I'm seriously crushing on this!
2/4/14 8:43 AM
Baja Susana said...
Nice fit, nice look, especially with the white tank and pants. You look good in in it
2/4/14 9:59 AM
sewing for fun said...
Gorgeous jacket! What a stunning show piece. It looks like a work of art, yet still does not overwhelm the wearer. You made an excellent choice!
2/4/14 11:27 AM
carolynw said...
I love your jacket - been thinking of making one in a similar print and now am sold!
2/4/14 2:29 PM
Annette1 said...
Very pretty! I love the fabric you've chosen. I'm tempted to buy this pattern, based on your version. :o)
2/5/14 1:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty floral print fabric! Your jacket looks good.
2/5/14 5:17 AM
Sew Good said...
Lovely! I never noticed this pattern before. I really like it. Thanks for the review
4/10/14 10:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: azjune

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable #118B

photo
by: Westy85

Review