SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8982 

10 more reviews
Viewed 733 times 
Reviewed by:chesneykat
photo

 
 
About chesneykat
MI USA
Member since: 3/30/12
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/4/14 12:08 PM
Last Updated:2/4/14 12:09 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8982 by chesneykat

Vogue Patterns: 8982 by chesneykat  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8982
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Loose fitting unlined jacket or vest.

Pattern Sizing: I made a size 12 and added 2 inches at the bust via an FBA.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. The back panel wraps around to the front. You have to pay attention attaching the sides to the back at first. I'd recommend using your dressform to help see how it goes together. After that, its easy!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like a shawl collar. I really like that this pattern is a little different than just a regular old shirt, but that its not so different that it starts wearing you instead of you wearing it!
I thought it was a shirt pattern until I sat down to write this review--it says its a jacket or vest pattern.
I would think that some people would think its a bit on the short side in the front. I am not quite 5' (and my FBA added and inch of lenghth) -- its fine for me though.

Fabric Used: I have made two--one in a stiff shirting and one in fleece.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Like any Vogue pattern that says its loose fitting--I think you'd be wise to choose your size by the measurements on the tissue not the envelope. I used a size 12 and added 2 inches with an FBA. I still had to whittle down the with of the shoulders about 3/4 of and inch. It has plenty of ease.
As mentioned above I think this might be a bit short for some people.
It did not need my usual slope shoulder adjustment.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I LOVE LOVE this pattern. Well done, Marcy!

Conclusion: More at Room for Sewing

Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kemish said...
Great top. I love the color. I just bought this pattern but so far haven't even taken it out of the envelope. Good to know that it may be short and need length. I will have to take note of this. Great review.
2/4/14 1:29 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice on you.
2/4/14 2:38 PM
Clareew said...
Great garments, you show the versatility of the pattern. It is now on my list.
2/4/14 5:02 PM
Loop51 said...
I am looking forward to making this top/jacket. Thank you for your review. Looks great.
2/4/14 5:13 PM
madbadger said...
Thank you for reviewing this! I'm currently making the knit version for my sister but want to try the woven for myself. I really wanted to see what it looked like on a real person...nice!
2/4/14 7:49 PM
TJSEWS said...
Love your version in the vibrant color. Thanks for your review. I have this pattern and will be sure to pay attention to the length.
2/4/14 8:48 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I just bought this pattern and was glad to read your review. It turned out well using both of the fabrics.
2/5/14 5:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love both versions of this. Thanks for the helpful review as regards sizing. I thought it looked a little short.
2/5/14 6:07 AM
redside said...
Thanks for your careful review. This top (vest/jacket) is on my list!
2/5/14 10:22 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Thank you for the thoughtful review. I have the pattern on my cutting table but think I'm going to have to make a muslin first.i love the raspberry on you.
2/8/14 0:42 AM
meadowclark said...
Thank you for the review and the detail on your blog. I have just traced this pattern in a 16 and it will be huge….I really appreciate the heads up.
3/2/14 5:01 PM
jlg said...
So pretty! Love this color on you.
3/22/14 6:11 PM
AnneM said...
Okay, the shirt is nice, but the fleece version is ADORABLE. I love it. That was a stroke of genius. And it works so nicely paired with it's matching shirt.
3/25/14 7:24 AM
Sarah Liz said...
I love the shawl variation you have given this shirt - and I think this looks great as a shirt instead of a jacket. Very nice :)
6/27/14 8:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now