SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6945 (Misses Tops)

8 more reviews
Viewed 318 times 
Reviewed by:Akino
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Akinostar
BC CANADA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/14 5:27 PM
Last Updated:3/5/14 5:28 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6945 by Akino

New Look: 6945 by Akino  New Look: 6945 by Akino  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6945
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Would NOT Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Boucle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Six variations in one. Button down tank top, sleeveless, and short or long sleved top, with ruffle and contrast trimming options.
Pattern Sizing:
Sizes A (8-10-12-14-16-18) I used size 12.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
My inspiration for this top was a picture of a Chanel top and skirt which you can see in one of the photos. The pattern has a lower cleavage and no pockets, but I thought it a good starting pattern for the desired look.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are simple because it is a very simple pattern. Nothing complicated or challenging.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I have to say that the pattern didn't fit properly. I choose the size by the bust measurement and the muslin turned out to be too wide from the bust down to the waist. Shoulder, bust and scythe fit well. It took some extra effort to make the pattern fit. Now I have two darts in the front and added a bust dart.
Fabric Used:
EmmaOneSock Cotton Tweed/boucle in creme/red, wool blend knit ponte for the skirt
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Very helpful were the horizontal and vertical markings I learned to use in Lynda Maynards: The perfect Fit course from CRAFTSY. Without this knowledge my top would definitely be out of grain line and it wouldn't fit at all.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I wouldn't, but now that this is done I'll use the muslin again.
Conclusion:
The big problem with this pattern is probably the initially added 6" for ease by the pattern company. It changes completely the proportion of the pattern.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NEMDF said...
That is gorgeous. Would also be cute as a vest worn over a silky pastel pink or pale grey blouse! Nicely done!
3/5/14 5:50 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
I immediately thought Chanel when I saw you photo. I like the down slopping dart. Why would any pattern put in six inches of ease?!
3/5/14 8:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job on making this pattern work for you. I took Lynda's class on Craftsy and found it most helpful in making fitting adjustments.
3/6/14 5:21 AM
Paris75008 said...
I love this top. Looks like you achieved a good fit. I took Lynda's class too and it took my fitting skills up to a whole new level.
3/6/14 6:12 AM
portercs said...
I love this look! Great job.I hope that someday my sewing advances to this level. :)
3/6/14 8:43 AM
STARG said...
Six inches of ease on this top? What are they thinking! Good job with the adjustments to get it to fit. Looks great!
3/6/14 9:57 AM
sacmabell said...
This does not look like you had any fitting problems. It is stunning. Your inspiration matched my first impression when I saw the picture.
3/6/14 4:41 PM
marjenann said...
Beautiful result!! The fabric is to die for!!!
3/6/14 6:24 PM
grey ann said...
Love it!
3/6/14 6:31 PM
CynthiaSue said...
This is so pretty and svelte!
3/7/14 10:29 PM
Akino said...
regarding the 6": they only printed this on the patternpaper somewhere..... and thank you all for your really nice compliments!
3/11/14 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Other Booby Traps

photo
by: LiZ

Review
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now