SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6035 (MISSES' SHIRTS)

32 more reviews
Viewed 161 times 
Reviewed by:amandajewls
photo

 
 
About amandajewlsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/18/10
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/14 1:14 AM
Last Updated:2/8/14 1:39 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6035 by amandajewls

Pattern Photo:McCall's 6035
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Voile  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Collared button down shirt with princess seams. Includes different piece for A - D cup sizes for better fitting. Amazing basic shirt with enough included modifications to make it a shirt that would fit numerous variations in a wardrobe.

Pattern Sizing: E5 (14 - 22)
I used the 18 - 20 sizing. (Comfortable commercial AUD size 16/US size 14) Modified A version.

I did a LOT of testing before the final shirt. Details on my blog Amanda's 6035 Blouse Muslin Tests

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, although I rather winged it while making the collar. I also sewed the sleeves on while open and then incorporated them into the side seam closure. Hate sewing in already closed sleeves.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The alternative cup size pieces! I used the D cup and it was perfect for my F cup size. The pieces were well notched, and fit together well - even the collar!
The only thing to give me a hitch was the bust line curve on the princess seam. I had a lot of puckering on the front side piece, so gathered it first lightly and then sewed it in to fit.

Fabric Used: Cotton Voile

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Sleeve length: Used the Sleeve A pattern, but didn't gather the bottom.
Body Size: Upper to waist line is size 20, waist line to bottom is size 18.
Button Placement: I put 9 buttons on, one being strategically placed right at fullest bust line to prevent puckering. Worked a charm.

I also top stitched the seams flat along the princess seams so I wouldn't possibly have to iron the shirt after drying.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Definitely would suggest this again - just do a cheap muslin version first. I discovered that I needed the hips of the size 18 after my muslin test.

Conclusion:
I finally have a shirt that fits perfectly over my bust line! Love the shirt and will make another in the future.

Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
It does fit you very well! Nice sewing!! I have this pattern and may give it a try soon :)
2/8/14 8:26 AM
vk5799 said...
Great job and the fit is marvelous. :0)))
2/8/14 9:21 AM
kajero said...
awesome!
2/8/14 10:59 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Your shirt looks great! I have that pattern too, I need to try it.
2/9/14 8:14 AM
badg61 said...
Great fit and great fabric!
2/9/14 11:26 AM
TGWGWS said...
Nice shirt! Great fit!
2/9/14 11:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now