SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> n/a (Shirred dress)

37 more reviews
Viewed 1337 times 
Reviewed by:Harmony
photo

 
 
About Harmonystar
CA USA
Member since: 11/7/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/2/05 0:24 AM
Last Updated:6/18/05 0:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harmony said...
Thanks everyone for the compliments. My niece loved the dress :) *BeckyW* It's not hard at all. Shirring is one of the easiest things to do. Everytime you sew a new row you stretch out the fabric so you are sewing flat fabric, but that's not difficult.
6/18/05 11:32 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute!!!! Is it hard to sew rows as you go along? I would think you would have to stretch out the elastic in previous rows as you sew the next row. Is that hard?
6/18/05 9:35 PM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous. I love the fabric combinations. I think I will have to give this a go sometime.
6/18/05 6:38 PM
JDpenelope said...
Terribly cute dresses and models. I have some elastic thread. Now all I need is time and talent!
6/18/05 12:27 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow, very very cute!!! MIght have to go get some elastic thread to try this out, they're sooo adorable (both the girls and the dresses, but I have 2 of the girl-kind already, LOL!)
6/18/05 10:19 AM
sosoatsewing said...
Cute dresses, I love this style for summer.
6/18/05 8:44 AM
Hilary said...
*All* the dresses are adorable, but I especially like the one with the ribbons. Great tip, Thanks!
6/18/05 8:26 AM
pharmercoon said...
Cute,cute,cute!! Kay
6/3/05 1:50 AM
Corey said...
Great save! I love the cherry fabric and it looks so wonderful on your precious daughter! Thanks for the helpful review!
6/2/05 10:38 PM
kismet007 said...
Those dresses are adorable! I want one! Yes, please please explain how you did the sheering in the tips section. It looks very RTW.
6/2/05 12:54 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Awesome save! Thank you so much for explaining how you did the shearing. Great instructions. Your baby is adorable in her pretty new dresses.
6/2/05 11:11 AM
SandraB said...
Your baby is so cute!! The dresses are lovely too.
6/2/05 10:51 AM
Ann B. said...
What a great idea. My young teen DD wants one of these and the ones in the stores are icky or overpriced. Or both. I would never have thought to use elastic thread in the bobbin. Please, Harmony, put this great idea in the tips section.
6/2/05 8:49 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great save. These look fabulous. Nice job.
6/2/05 8:23 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Adorable! I wore dresses like this quite a bit as a child and teen - so cool and comfortable.
6/2/05 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a cute dress, and an excellent save! And your daughter is a real cutie-pie! -Ann
6/2/05 7:26 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute dresses and adorable baby girl. Nice save on the peasant top fabric too, and very smart to use it to experiment...very successfully!
6/2/05 1:56 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Such sweet dresses and a beautiful little model, very cute!
6/2/05 1:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: DonnaH

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-108

photo
by: annie11

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

More Info