SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> n/a (Shirred dress)

37 more reviews
Viewed 1337 times 
Reviewed by:Harmony
photo

 
 
About Harmonystar
CA USA
Member since: 11/7/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/2/05 0:24 AM
Last Updated:6/18/05 0:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Such sweet dresses and a beautiful little model, very cute!
6/2/05 1:50 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute dresses and adorable baby girl. Nice save on the peasant top fabric too, and very smart to use it to experiment...very successfully!
6/2/05 1:56 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a cute dress, and an excellent save! And your daughter is a real cutie-pie! -Ann
6/2/05 7:26 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Adorable! I wore dresses like this quite a bit as a child and teen - so cool and comfortable.
6/2/05 7:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great save. These look fabulous. Nice job.
6/2/05 8:23 AM
Ann B. said...
What a great idea. My young teen DD wants one of these and the ones in the stores are icky or overpriced. Or both. I would never have thought to use elastic thread in the bobbin. Please, Harmony, put this great idea in the tips section.
6/2/05 8:49 AM
SandraB said...
Your baby is so cute!! The dresses are lovely too.
6/2/05 10:51 AM
Princess Jenny said...
Awesome save! Thank you so much for explaining how you did the shearing. Great instructions. Your baby is adorable in her pretty new dresses.
6/2/05 11:11 AM
kismet007 said...
Those dresses are adorable! I want one! Yes, please please explain how you did the sheering in the tips section. It looks very RTW.
6/2/05 12:54 PM
Corey said...
Great save! I love the cherry fabric and it looks so wonderful on your precious daughter! Thanks for the helpful review!
6/2/05 10:38 PM
pharmercoon said...
Cute,cute,cute!! Kay
6/3/05 1:50 AM
Hilary said...
*All* the dresses are adorable, but I especially like the one with the ribbons. Great tip, Thanks!
6/18/05 8:26 AM
sosoatsewing said...
Cute dresses, I love this style for summer.
6/18/05 8:44 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow, very very cute!!! MIght have to go get some elastic thread to try this out, they're sooo adorable (both the girls and the dresses, but I have 2 of the girl-kind already, LOL!)
6/18/05 10:19 AM
JDpenelope said...
Terribly cute dresses and models. I have some elastic thread. Now all I need is time and talent!
6/18/05 12:27 PM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous. I love the fabric combinations. I think I will have to give this a go sometime.
6/18/05 6:38 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute!!!! Is it hard to sew rows as you go along? I would think you would have to stretch out the elastic in previous rows as you sew the next row. Is that hard?
6/18/05 9:35 PM
Harmony said...
Thanks everyone for the compliments. My niece loved the dress :) *BeckyW* It's not hard at all. Shirring is one of the easiest things to do. Everytime you sew a new row you stretch out the fabric so you are sewing flat fabric, but that's not difficult.
6/18/05 11:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Double Collar Blouse

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review
Butterick 05175

photo
by: aunrea

Review
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now