SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> n/a (Shirred dress)

37 more reviews
Viewed 1337 times 
Reviewed by:Harmony
photo

 
 
About Harmonystar
CA USA
Member since: 11/7/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/2/05 0:24 AM
Last Updated:6/18/05 0:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Harmony said...
Thanks everyone for the compliments. My niece loved the dress :) *BeckyW* It's not hard at all. Shirring is one of the easiest things to do. Everytime you sew a new row you stretch out the fabric so you are sewing flat fabric, but that's not difficult.
6/18/05 11:32 PM
BeckyW said...
Very cute!!!! Is it hard to sew rows as you go along? I would think you would have to stretch out the elastic in previous rows as you sew the next row. Is that hard?
6/18/05 9:35 PM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous. I love the fabric combinations. I think I will have to give this a go sometime.
6/18/05 6:38 PM
JDpenelope said...
Terribly cute dresses and models. I have some elastic thread. Now all I need is time and talent!
6/18/05 12:27 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow, very very cute!!! MIght have to go get some elastic thread to try this out, they're sooo adorable (both the girls and the dresses, but I have 2 of the girl-kind already, LOL!)
6/18/05 10:19 AM
sosoatsewing said...
Cute dresses, I love this style for summer.
6/18/05 8:44 AM
Hilary said...
*All* the dresses are adorable, but I especially like the one with the ribbons. Great tip, Thanks!
6/18/05 8:26 AM
pharmercoon said...
Cute,cute,cute!! Kay
6/3/05 1:50 AM
Corey said...
Great save! I love the cherry fabric and it looks so wonderful on your precious daughter! Thanks for the helpful review!
6/2/05 10:38 PM
kismet007 said...
Those dresses are adorable! I want one! Yes, please please explain how you did the sheering in the tips section. It looks very RTW.
6/2/05 12:54 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Awesome save! Thank you so much for explaining how you did the shearing. Great instructions. Your baby is adorable in her pretty new dresses.
6/2/05 11:11 AM
SandraB said...
Your baby is so cute!! The dresses are lovely too.
6/2/05 10:51 AM
Ann B. said...
What a great idea. My young teen DD wants one of these and the ones in the stores are icky or overpriced. Or both. I would never have thought to use elastic thread in the bobbin. Please, Harmony, put this great idea in the tips section.
6/2/05 8:49 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great save. These look fabulous. Nice job.
6/2/05 8:23 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Adorable! I wore dresses like this quite a bit as a child and teen - so cool and comfortable.
6/2/05 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a cute dress, and an excellent save! And your daughter is a real cutie-pie! -Ann
6/2/05 7:26 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute dresses and adorable baby girl. Nice save on the peasant top fabric too, and very smart to use it to experiment...very successfully!
6/2/05 1:56 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Such sweet dresses and a beautiful little model, very cute!
6/2/05 1:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat

photo
by: Pollycotto...

Review
Simplicity 3867

photo
by: BeckiP

Review
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now