SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1017 (Peony)

32 more reviews
Viewed 206 times 
Reviewed by:Lace threads
photo

 
 
About Lace threadsstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/5/14
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:2/9/14 5:54 AM
Last Updated:2/9/14 6:03 AM
Project Photo:Colette Patterns: 1017 by Lace threads

Colette Patterns: 1017 by Lace threads  
Pattern Photo:Colette Patterns 1017
Colette Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Simple dress with flare skirt and sleeves.
Pattern Sizing:

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Sort of, but I had problems with the bodice fit!
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Fiddly to try and modify the bodice for my measurements
Fabric Used:
I used a thick cotton that I rescued from a pair of curtains. It's rather like a Sanderson, but not sure what it is exactly. I used a muslin to line.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made up a muslin and fiddled for a long time to try and get the bust area right, but I'm new to dressmaking and didn't really know what I was doing and I'm still not happy, though I love the dress and wear it. The muslin fit was fine, but the finished dress isn't for some reason. I've cheated and have taken in some of the extra fabric by just sewing up the bulky material either side of the bodice darts - I've shown this in the detail picture, and that's helped, but I know it's not the right way to tackle the problem. The sleeves also are far from perfect, and I lowered the neckline by a couple of cms, as it sits too high for me. But it's fine - I'm on a steep learning curve, so bodice fit is something at some stage I'm going to have to try and get my head around.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I've made up a second peony, which I'll try and add a review for. I would recommend, but prepare to fiddle a lot. The peony seems to be designed for busty women, as far as I can see.
Conclusion:
I do love it, but it's a love hate relationship at the moment as it's a dress that shows I haven't a clue what I'm doing when it comes to fit. I've blogged about it here if you want to see more pictures.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
The great fabric and nice belt make this dress look special.
2/9/14 6:54 AM
CissieW said...
Pretty dress. I love the neckline on this.
2/9/14 10:51 AM
Melwyk said...
It looks very nice despite the fitting troubles. The fabric is so pretty -- good reuse :)
2/9/14 1:08 PM
SewLibra said...
A dress from curtains like Scarlett O'Hara! It looks very pretty.
2/10/14 0:58 AM
ASiverson said...
Very very pretty dress and I love the belt with it. Great job and though you spoke about fitting issues, they don't really show. TFS!
2/10/14 2:01 PM
Lace threads said...
Thank you for all the lovely comments. Love the thought of it as my Scarlett O'Hara dress! :)
2/11/14 3:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's M4951

photo
by: lisalu

Review
Vogue Patterns 8661

photo
by: lamstu

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now