SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2057 

9 more reviews
Viewed 188 times 
Reviewed by:Meomyart
photo

 
 
About Meomyartstar
OH
Member since: 4/27/13
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/9/14 9:51 PM
Last Updated:2/9/14 9:57 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2057 by Meomyart

Simplicity: 2057 by Meomyart  Simplicity: 2057 by Meomyart  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2057
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Fleece  [See other projects in this fabric]
I actually combined the Simplicity pattern with McCalls 6898. I had made a shirt and dress from the McCalls pattern and really liked the lines. (See my other reviews) I added ease and then pulled pieces from the Simplicity pattern for a more fitted bottom and all the "embellishments" like the welted pockets and details on the sleeves.

Fabric: This is the first time I've sewn an outerwear coat and initially wanted to use a heavy wool, but after seeing how expensive it can be I decided to test the waters with fleece, just to be sure it was something I could pull off. Given that I mixed the patterns, I did make a muslin. The lining is just a polyester that I found on clearance.

I really liked the idea of a fur collar, but did not want to commit to it as a sewn on detail, so I made it detachable. I love this feature.

Now that I have the pattern down, I'm hoping to make one out of a nicer wool and maybe a spring version in a denim. Overall it fits and looks very much like the simplicity pattern listed, which I referenced for parts. This is a Project Runway pattern, and a word of caution... the fabric yardage measurements are really frustrating everything is listed separate... including the sleeves? It also seems like they recommend too much fabric.

Overall, I'm thrilled with the results and thrilled that I was able to pull it off!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chenille said...
Looks great and love that fur collar!
2/9/14 10:15 PM
meadowclark said...
Looks amazing. I like the lines, pockets, collar. Well done!
2/9/14 10:27 PM
SewLibra said...
I love the details of the pockets, sleeve tabs, epaulets, and removable collar. Great job with your "Frankenpattern". :-)
2/10/14 1:12 AM
Terri A said...
Very nice!
2/10/14 2:43 AM
JudyMac said...
It looks great! I love the detachable fur collar.
2/10/14 10:03 AM
redside said...
What an impressive first coat!
2/10/14 10:25 AM
carrie18584 said...
Beautiful coat! I love the style lines and all the details you included. Looks great!
2/10/14 11:37 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Very nice. Great idea to use fleece for a muslin fabric. Love all the details on this coat.
2/11/14 7:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now