Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6816 (Misses Easy Two-Hour Skirt, Pants and Knit Tops) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 341 times 36 more reviews
Reviewed by:shazam410
photo
About shazam410
CA USA
Member since: 1/6/14
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/10/14 2:46 PM
Last Updated:2/27/14 5:16 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6816 by shazam410

Pattern Photo:New Look 6816
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Tops with variation in sleeves, skirt and pants with elastic waistband

Pattern Sizing:10-22. Cut a 12 for the neck opening, tapered to a 14 for waist and hips.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it Yes, it acutally looks better. I just made it last night and am wearing it today.

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes, except the neck band did not work. The size 12 neckband did not come close to fitting the neck opening. I ccut a second neck band and fitted it.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I like the raglan sleeves...very flattering if you are busty.

Fabric Used:I used a medium weight double knit. The envelope calls for a light weight but I chose to go with the medium weight and it drapes beautifully. I think, the extra weight adds some depth to the sleeve draping and stability in the neck opening. The fabric does not wrinkle, so the bodice lies very smooth and gently hugs my hips. The fabric is burgundy and I made it to match a burgundy ultra suede shirt and accessories. I am short and very often go with the monochromatic look to length my image. I plan to make pants out of same fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I should have cut a 10 neck opening but I don't think it would have made much of a difference in the width of the neck opening. It is very very wide. I cannot wear a regular bra without straps showing. But since I am a hourglass/pear shape the wide top and draped dolman sleeves really suit my figure. It draws attention to my upper body. Also I added three inches to the length. The top is a lot shorter than the envelope picture.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes I will make again and close the neck opening a bit more. it is a very easy pattern and once you devise your own solution for neck opening and band, it is a good project for a novice seamstress.

Conclusion: Good pattern to sew in different knits adding matching skirt or pants.

Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Delia Wilson said...
Great Top, I have sewn this in black. Good idea for off the shoulder look.
2/12/14 3:58 PM
sacjeanie said...
Welcome! The neckline does indeed look wide. I like your fabric selection.
2/14/14 10:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 7013 Misses' Blouse
photo
Review by Margaret on 7/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 5894 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5894 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8814 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8814 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1328 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissMarnie on 1/22/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madeline Tutu Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Newsie Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us