SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Closet Case Files> Bombshell Swimsuit (Bombshell Swimsuit)

17 more reviews
Viewed 321 times 
Reviewed by:paolag
photo

 
 
About paolagstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/9/08
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/14 3:58 AM
Last Updated:2/11/14 4:00 AM
Project Photo:Closet Case Files: Bombshell Swimsuit by paolag

Pattern Photo:Closet Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit
Closet Case Files Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Nylon-Lycra  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: The Bombshell is modeled on a classic 1950's silhouette. The pattern includes 3 variations in 8 sizes: a gathered bust maillot, a halter neck, and a high waist bottom

Pattern Sizing:4-8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, the printed instructions were clear. However, I would recommend that you read them in conjunction with notes on the sewalong on the Closet Case Files website. There are points covered in the sewalong that aren't in the printed instructions, which I found handy to know!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?A great design offering both coverage and an opportunity to highlight your good bits! And all those gathers gloss over any lumps and bumps!


Fabric Used:Swimsuit lycra, and black swimsuit lining.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None at all. I made this exactly as seen on the packet!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I would definitely recommend this pattern, especially if you are a bit intimidated at the thought of making a swimsuit. It's not that hard, really - you don't even need a serger.
I'll definitely revisit this pattern when the need arises.

Conclusion:
If you would like to make your first swimsuit this is the one to make. A lovely pattern.

More on my blog Click Here
Available for sale on PR: $10.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
They are great bathers, and your favourite is gorgeous.
2/11/14 4:17 AM
LlanoGirl said...
This is really great! Looks fantastic on you.
2/11/14 7:50 AM
Danmar said...
Looks good! You make it sound doable
2/11/14 7:53 AM
Baja Susana said...
You look wonderful in this suit.
2/11/14 8:52 AM
USMCMom said...
The fit is wonderful and that's such gorgeous fabric! And now I am reminded of just how far I am from swim suit ready! If only shoveling snow reduced one's thighs!
2/11/14 10:04 AM
atymonw said...
Love your swimsuit - especially that floral print! One of these days I'm going to get brave enough to make it.
2/11/14 10:55 AM
Lace threads said...
Really inspirational to read your review. I'll aim to make this one day.
2/11/14 1:02 PM
Kathhhhhy said...
So pretty! This pattern is so great!!
2/11/14 3:46 PM
mnitts said...
Gorgeous!
2/11/14 4:35 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous swimsuit, love the fabric and you look fantastic!
2/11/14 10:17 PM
Wianno Girl said...
Wow, wish it was available in my size - yours is gorgeous...
2/12/14 7:56 PM
Gilberta said...
I'm so impressed--this looks great on you. Maybe I will have the nerve to try one~
3/19/14 11:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6003

photo
by: SewWil

Review