SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 9306 (Danielle)

11 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Little White Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 490 times 
Reviewed by:geraldine
photo

 
 
About geraldinestar
OR USA
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:2/11/14 11:51 PM
Last Updated:2/16/14 2:36 AM
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 by geraldine

BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 by geraldine  BurdaStyle Downloadable: 9306 by geraldine  
Pattern Photo: BurdaStyle Downloadable Pattern Info

More Info provided by geraldine

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Eyelet  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: A fabulously easy dress that is a great basic with some nice design details and a beautiful neckline. The easy design allows easy design and fitting adaptations. Try to replace the front and back tuck with a princess seam if you would like a more fitted look and eliminate the pockets for a less sporty and more simplistic and sleek version.

Pattern Sizing: 34-46, I made the 42

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes but I changed the skirt to a circle skirt.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didn't really use them. I opted to omit the facings and fully lined the bodice and skirt with cotton batiste.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The fit, this bodice fit me perfectly as drafted with no alterations necessary. I liked the neckline and he midriff band.

Fabric Used: White cotton eyelet. Fully lined in white cotton batiste.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Many they are as follows
1. lengthened the midriff band about 3 inches
2. lowered the back neckline to make it more summer friendly
3. changed the skirt given to a circle skirt, self drafted from this tutorial Click Here


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes great pattern so well drafted, and the circle skirt tutorial on the by hand London site is great also!

Conclusion: This is my entry for the Little White Dress Contest. The first photo is my beach styled shot, next I styled my LWD for daytime school and errands, last up is my evening look!
I have made a little deal with myself to sew only free patterns this year to keep sewing costs down and to explore all the awesome free sewing patterns out there. So I decided to enter the LWD contest and put my resolve to the test. I even have a pinterest board with free pattern links on it, free pattern board. So far I am pleased, this pattern was great. I almost always have to alter patterns with the big 4, but did not here. I love the fit and my new dress seems quite versatile. I have already thought of many more ways to wear it!
You see my planning board Here on my blog.


Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
Geraldine you made it with a lovely entry
2/12/14 4:44 AM
aaltje said...
what a beautiful dress, it looks great on you!
2/12/14 5:44 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
A great summer dress. Love the inspiration board you created. It looks so much like the Lanvin- so different from the Burda pattern you started with! Thanks for sharing this great collection of free patterns. Many are completely new to me.
2/12/14 6:42 AM
annakeeton said...
Splendid dress and thank you for sharing your free pattern board.
2/12/14 6:48 AM
debbieB said...
I love everything about your dress,love how you styled it!
2/12/14 7:49 AM
ThreadsofFaith said...
Your dress is just lovely and what great fit you've acheived!
2/12/14 8:04 AM
CypGrl said...
Thanks for the Pinterest link to free patterns. I think sewing spring/summer might be a great idea for the next few days. Great job!
2/12/14 9:38 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I love your version! What a great fit and you did an excellent job on this dress.
2/12/14 10:05 AM
Sew Good said...
Lovely dress and what a great idea to make a goal of only using free patterns for a year. Thanks for the info! I'll have to check out the downloadable patterns. I've never tried that :)
2/12/14 11:00 AM
Nessa09 said...
This dress is beautiful, and a wonderful entry to the PR contest!
2/12/14 6:31 PM
Mobycat said...
Very nice dress.
2/12/14 7:29 PM
Baja Susana said...
Pretty dress, and great styling
2/13/14 3:11 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful and versatile! The fabric shows really nicely in your photos. And thank you for sharing the free pattern board.
2/13/14 9:55 AM
sacmabell said...
The eyelet is a great choice.
2/13/14 9:56 AM
chenille said...
Awesome dress with a great fit and love your fabric choice. Thanks for the link to the free pats!
2/14/14 3:15 AM
sewingandalterations said...
The fabric, the fit, and the pattern are all perfect!
2/15/14 11:45 PM
Sew Good said...
Thank you thank you! I had no idea there were so many wonderful free patterns! I just downloaded several this evening.
2/16/14 3:48 AM
petro said...
How pretty is that! The white cotton eyelet was a great choice.
2/18/14 4:26 AM
annem54 said...
Lovely dress and styling. Great plan to use free patterns - I must check out your link; thank you for sharing it.
2/18/14 11:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

New Look 6910

photo
by: SewLonnie

Review
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8834

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review