SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5523 (Misses' Straight Skirt)

51 more reviews
Viewed 326 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 346
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/14 2:05 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 5523 by Lori V

McCall's: 5523 by Lori V  McCall's: 5523 by Lori V  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 5523
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Straight skirt, mid-knee length, has side zipper and faced waistline; skirt A has shaped lower back flounce; skirt B has pleated lower back; skirt C has gathered lower back with self-fabric ruffle; skirt D has two lower back flounces. I made view B
Pattern Sizing:
4 to 18
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, very much.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are excellent, easy to follow.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the pencil skirt shape but then a bit of fun in the back. The shape of the skirt is nice, it showcases the fabric but the back just adds something extra to a skirt.
Fabric Used:
Mood Fabrics' Nanette Lepore stretch cotton.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
At 5'8" I never would of expected to use the petite adjustment but this skirt runs a bit long and the petite adjustment was just the right amount to make the skirt the perfect length.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I have sewn this skirt several times and will sew it several more. The fit is perfect, it is quick and easy to sew and the results are fabulous.
Conclusion:

I love my new skirt, right now it is a bright color for the winter but it will be wonderful in the summer, too. More pictures on my blog

Here is another one

and the first one
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kathleencramer said...
Wow! Great skirts! I have the pattern but have never broken it out. I am working on a very simple pencil skirt now and am looking for a more detailed one next. I think I will look at this one more closely!
2/12/14 2:25 PM
kathleencramer said...
ps- the piping on the purple is fantastic!
2/12/14 2:25 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow! Darling!
2/12/14 3:05 PM
atymonw said...
So cute! I love the photo in the snow:)
2/12/14 4:14 PM
SilverBrumby said...
What a beautiful skirt. I have the pattern, but I had never thought it could look so fun, thanks for the review, I will make it soon!
2/12/14 4:47 PM
Nessa09 said...
Absolutely beautiful skirt!
2/12/14 6:21 PM
Guelphgurl said...
Oooo...very nice!
2/12/14 6:24 PM
LlanoGirl said...
So cute, this is my favorite, although all of them are super!
2/12/14 7:20 PM
TJSEWS said...
I love your skirt. The happy color and print is fabulous.
2/12/14 8:48 PM
kajero said...
This skirt, as well as the other ones you made, are so awesome. You have truly inspired me. I don't go out to work anymore, so it is hard to get motivated to make something as gorgeous as you do!
2/12/14 11:17 PM
Dilliander said...
Great skirt Lori! I've made this pattern with the flounce and love how its sensible in front and party/fun at the back. Your skirt with the pleats is fabulous and the snow backdrop so out of keeping with our hot humid weather in Aus at the moment.
2/13/14 1:28 AM
Ineedaname said...
Pretty skirt! I also have this pattern and now want to make it!
2/13/14 8:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love this skirt pattern and really should pull it out again to make. I like your third version as much as the other two. Love this fabric, makes me think spring as I am looking at over 10 inches of snow right now!!
2/13/14 8:17 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
I love all three of yours skirts but this third one clinched the deal for me...I must make it this summer! Thanks for another wonderful review, Lori!
2/13/14 12:13 PM
Andrea670 said...
I forgot all about this pattern. It looks great on you and your fabric choice was spot on. I'm going to have to go dig this one out.
2/13/14 1:15 PM
DaisyA said...
What a brilliant job you did, matching the pattern and the fit is fantastic!
2/13/14 3:51 PM
Maree P said...
Lovely skirt Lori. I really like how you have styled it too.
2/19/14 6:26 AM
cocosloft said...
Wowser! What a gorgeous skirt! Your fabric and management of the print are fantastic.
3/23/14 10:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: AngelaCole...

Review
Simplicity 4450

photo
by: roadtotheh...

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now