SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (MISSES' DRESS)

123 more reviews
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:PoldaPop
photo

 
 
About PoldaPopstar
IL USA
Member since: 12/31/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:2/13/14 11:14 AM
Last Updated:2/13/14 11:17 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8379 by PoldaPop

Vogue Patterns: 8379 by PoldaPop  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8379
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Wrap front dress has soft pleats, side tie and sleeve variations. Dress B has colloar.

Pattern Sizing:
8-10-12-14 and 16-18-20-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes - the only somewhat confusing part was the directions for attaching the skirt to the bodice facing. Just take it slowly and you'll get it. I will try to remember to take a picture when I make my next dress.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the pleats, the collar, and the fullness of the skirt.

Fabric Used:
Ponte knit from gorgeousfabrics.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I've made two of of the View B dresses so far, one for myself and one for a client. For my client, I cut one size smaller for the bodice and two sizes smaller for the skirt than what the size measurements called for (an 8 for both instead of a 10 and 12). I had to lengthen the bodice about 3/4" and lengthen the skirt by 2.5" (she's about 5'9"). I changed the angle of the shoulder, taking it up 5/8" at the high shoulder, tapering to 0 at the armscye, which fixed the gaping at the neck. This meant I also needed to adjust the collar. I took in the side seams a bit as well. I also shortened the sleeve to elbow length - it hit at a place where she thought she'd always want to push it up.

When I made this for myself, I cut one size smaller, lengthened the bodice by 1" and left the skirt length as it was (I'm 5'5"). I changed the angle of the shoulder, taking it up 1/2" at the armscye (so the opposite of my client). I liked the shortened sleeves so I went with those as well.

I saw a number of people had problems with the facing rolling out. For my client's dress, I tacked at the shoulder seams, top stitched the facings AND added a small snap for good measure. For my own dress, I just tacked at the shoulders. This seemed to be enough, but since it's my own, I can always do some of the other tricks if I need to later on.

I also tacked down the pleats as I really wanted them to stay pleated. I'm not sure if this was a good idea, but it's easy enough to take out later if I want.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes! I'm making one for another client next week, using ITY fabric this time.

Conclusion:
I wasn't a big fan of wrap dresses until I gave this one a try. I love how easy it is to wear! I know this one will be in frequent rotation. You can read more about this project on my blog: http://www.poldapop.com/2014/02/vogue-8379-wrap-dress-conversion.html
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Great looking dress and VHR!
2/13/14 1:47 PM
mnitts said...
Looks cute and seems to fit you perfectly.
2/13/14 6:16 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I've seen this pattern before and it always seems to yield great results. Yours is no exception - it's terrific!
2/13/14 6:18 PM
ColorFiberTexture said...
Certainly a wrap dress to consider now after reading your review! Thanks for the detailed info on the pattern adjustments.
2/14/14 8:13 AM
PoldaPop said...
Thanks, Ladies!
2/14/14 3:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco

photo
by: meggipeg

Review