SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5917 (Misses Dress)

18 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 Little White Dress Contest Contest
Viewed 378 times 
Reviewed by:Curly26
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Curly26
USA
Member since: 10/16/11
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/14 7:16 PM
Last Updated:2/15/14 7:53 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5917 by Curly26

Butterick: 5917 by Curly26  Butterick: 5917 by Curly26  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5917
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Seersucker  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Dress has ruffles, semi-fitted, lined bodice and inset, raised waist and back zipper. View A. self-lined sleeves.
Pattern Sizing:
14-22
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except I added about an inch to the insert for more coverage.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, I read them before starting the project and as I was sewing.

Fabric Used:
Seersucker from fabric.com

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I am a pear shape/ triangle so I had to add inches to the bottom but since I am new to altering I added inches to the waist so I had to figure out how to make the skirt fit into the bodice.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I purchased some yellow seersucker. Yes, I would recommend the pattern.
Conclusion:
This is a great dress, really classy. I can't wait until the spring I can see myself wearing this dress often during the warmer days of spring and summer.
I am also entering the LWD contest.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
I can imagine why you choose this pattern..... It has great possibilities
2/15/14 8:37 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Trully a classy dress! Nice work. I love the way the ruffles look beneath the jacket and bolero.
2/15/14 9:07 PM
Sarah Liz said...
This dress looks lovely.
2/15/14 11:12 PM
sewingandalterations said...
Great pattern choice! It really is a go-anywhere dress. Beautiful!
2/15/14 11:48 PM
annakeeton said...
Pretty dress and the ruffles really are a great feature.
2/16/14 8:13 AM
Baja Susana said...
very pretty dress, and you look good in it.
2/16/14 9:53 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Those pretty ruffles frame the face nicely.
2/17/14 7:56 PM
Curly26 said...
Thanks to all for your lovely comments. I really love this dress and will be wearing it a lot this summer. Truly a LWD. 😀
2/17/14 9:46 PM
petro said...
Lovely pattern choice, so neat with the ruffles at the neckline.
2/18/14 4:53 AM
Ashford said...
The style looks great on you. You did a fantastic job with sewing an unusual collar treatment. For the contest, I was delighted to see your photos of how a jacket could be worn with this dress style. Enjoy your dress this Spring and the compliments you will earn. Put it on your Reminders to make another one next Fall in a deep, rich color.
2/19/14 3:43 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a great fabric for this pattern! You look wonderful wearing it and I love your different looks.
2/22/14 7:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6611

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review