SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1687 (Misses' & Miss Petite Dress Project Runway Collection)

2 more reviews
Viewed 384 times 
Reviewed by:mysticotala
photo

 
 
About mysticotalastar
MA USA
Member since: 6/18/08
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/14 3:02 PM
Last Updated:2/16/14 3:05 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1687 by mysticotala

Simplicity: 1687 by mysticotala  Simplicity: 1687 by mysticotala  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1687
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Click Here for more commentary!

Pattern Description: "Misses and Miss Petite dress with seamed bodice and pleated, flared skirt. Design elements include upper bodice with neckline and back variations and long or cap sleeves. Great for day or evening."

Pattern Sizing: I honestly don't remember what size I cut. Smaller, because it is a big 4 pattern, then maybe a little smaller because my fabric has a lot of stretch

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I think so

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yea, no problems there at all. Pretty simple from what I remember. Much harder for me to match up the plaids on all the seams than anything to do with the pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the dress. It is super cute, but I don't think it is really my style...Which I probably could have figured out before I made it. The pleats end right at my hips...not too flattering on me, in my opinion.

Fabric Used: A stretchy plaid. Probably polyester. I've had it around for years.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Nope. Switched around some grainlines to work with the plaid, and used bias tape instead of piping in between the top and the bottom bodice

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I wouldn't sew it again, but I think it would work well for others. It just isn't really my style, maybe I made it too small, maybe it would look better in different fabrics....something. Not BAD though, so definitely check it out if it interests you! It might grow on me eventually, who knows!

Conclusion:

Meh. Go for it. I'm just being weird about not liking it. I'm sure it is more personal than it being a bad pattern!

Click Here for my blog post on this pattern
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kajero said...
I wouldn't relegate it to the back of the closet. I think it looks wonderful on you even if it isn't your style!!!
2/16/14 3:13 PM
mnitts said...
I agree. I think it looks so cute! I have this pattern but not sewn. Seeing yours I might change my mind. Fab!
2/16/14 3:29 PM
nothy lane said...
I like your dress a lot. I think you should reconsider putting in the back of the closet.
2/16/14 3:32 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
I saw the pictures before I read that you didn't like it and I was thinking, "wow, that dress looks great on her!" I think it's adorable and I'm sure not seeing that it makes your hips look big. Very, very cute!
2/16/14 4:34 PM
koo104 said...
This dress really shows off your shape which sounds like you are not accustom to doing. The fabric is really pretty with your coloring. It may not be a everyday wearing dress but it is pretty fab on you. It is maybe a little snug in the waist area. If you feel the fabric is to thin, you could line the bodice with Batitste for silk organza to give you better support coverage or add a waist stay. Usually this style of dress with have a inside belt of Gros grain ribbon that is slightly snugger than the dress to take the stress off the seams.
2/16/14 5:14 PM
Meomyart said...
Great feedback from koo104. I love it when people post really helpful tips! I think the dress is really great. I love the coloring and style...
2/16/14 5:33 PM
WinterQueen said...
Absolutely STUNNING! And it DOES suit you. If you wore it out I bet you would get loads of compliments :)x
2/16/14 5:36 PM
mysticotala said...
Thanks everyone! I might have to try wearing it out sometime now! And thanks koo104, I might try lining it, I think that would definitely help!
2/16/14 8:51 PM
LTC said...
This is just lovely and you look great in it, wear it proudly!
2/17/14 1:24 AM
aaltje said...
I agree with everyone above, I think the dress is lovely. The pleats end at a great point IMHO, a bit lower than the waist, which in fact makes the dress pretty balanced on your figure, so I do think it is flattering. Maybe, when the pleats would've ended higher in the waist, the hips would have been accentuated much more than they are now, then I would have agreed, but now, I just think the dress looks great on you.
2/17/14 7:54 AM
TJSEWS said...
What!? You don't like this dress??? - but you look fabulous! It is very flattering. Gorgeous!
2/17/14 1:09 PM
jnamcd said...
Love this lines of this one! Great job!
2/17/14 7:22 PM
MissyBelle said...
Snap out of it and rock that dress! You'll get so many compliments!
2/18/14 12:51 PM
Loualibar said...
I Love it too and I think it looks very special with the piping and yoke cut on the bias and the pockets!
2/21/14 8:47 PM
Loualibar said...
I love it too and I think it looks very special with the piping and yoke cut on the bias and the pockets!
2/21/14 8:47 PM
shazam410 said...
I agree with the rest of the comments. The fit of your dress looks very professional and it suits your very nice figure. It is very flattering.
5/12/14 4:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1127

photo
by: Sewtox

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now