SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8972 (Misses' Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/14 5:07 PM
Last Updated:2/16/14 5:13 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8972 by chenille

Vogue Patterns: 8972 by chenille  Vogue Patterns: 8972 by chenille  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8972
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Lined dress has close-fitting bodice, seam detail, skirt variations, and back zipper. Topstitiching. Separate pattern pieces are included for cup sizes A,B,C, and D. View A, B, C have semi-fitted skirt, back hemline slit, and stitched hem. B,F have unlined sleeves. D,E,F have narrow hem.
I made view A
Pattern Sizing:
6-14. I sewed size 12 ( Vogue says I should be 14-16) with my own petite alterations for the bodice
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
pretty much, but my waist yoke might be sitting a little higher than the pattern picture
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Likes: first time using a custom fit and found it to be pretty close when following the measuring instructions. I just had minor tweaking to the bust fit with the C cup. All the notches lined up correctly. This view doesn't require much fabric. 34 pieces for dress and lining!!!
Dislike: I think the arch of the front skirt creates a little "poofyness" in the "I look kinda pregnant" area...you lose the princess seaming there. When I went back and looked at the model photo, I can see it there too. Still I like the looks of of all seams. 34 pieces for dress and lining!!!(no, it's not a typo - I both love and hate that...)
Fabric Used:
Stretch denim - maybe a little heavier than a stretch cotton sateen.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Subbed an invisible zipper for the centered and topstitched one that the pattern called for.
Alterations: I started with a muslin without any changes to see where I needed the petite adjustments.
Front: shortened shoulder height 1cm, removed 1cm length between bust and yoke seam edge, added .5 cm width to lower armhole, removed .8 cm from side seam at underarm tapering to zero about half way to yoke seam edge.
Back: in addition to same height adjustments as front, removed .8cm from back armhole curve from side seam to notch, Removed 1cm width from center back seam at neck tapering to zero about 2/3 rds down to yoke seam edge, 1cm swayback adjustment.
Yoke: removed 1.5 cm height at adjustment line.
Changed all SA to 1 cm except for the zipper seam - I'm sold - going to do this from now on!
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I am planning on sewing the version with the flared skirt, and also another version like this with solid bodice and skirt and just the yoke in a print. I'm planning on tweaking the shape of the center front skirt to lay a little flatter.
Conclusion:
This was the wearable muslin to test out my changes before I made a white version for the LWD contest, alas, I ran out of time. Just as well - I think the beauty of the textured knit fabric I had chosen would have been lost in all the seams.
I have been in a major sewing slump and really needed a challenging project to get kick-started - and it worked. I learned so much from not taking any short cuts with sewing this dress. Having a deadline, like the contest - helped so much with keeping focused and not letting this turn into a UFO.
Flickr Set
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
It's a great dress! Perfect fit with nice lines. I'm partial to red :)
2/16/14 5:20 PM
jenleeC said...
Your muslin fitting paid off as this dress fits you perfectly. As another petite I appreciate your details on the adjustments you made, thanks.
2/16/14 7:21 PM
canei said...
Nice!
2/16/14 7:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, such a stunning dress on you!
2/16/14 9:04 PM
cmcarr said...
You look beautiful.
2/16/14 9:51 PM
LPGA said...
Chenille, thanks for sharing your informative review. Did you really say 34 pieces...you are brave but the end result was worth it !
2/16/14 11:09 PM
SewLibra said...
Pretty dress and amazing fit!
2/17/14 0:33 AM
Quickie said...
It is a great dress, I can imagine that it has probably been a fantastic Valntine outfit, I love the fabric
2/17/14 0:41 AM
jlg said...
This fits you beautifully.
2/17/14 6:09 AM
aaltje said...
What a lovely dress, it looks great on you!
2/17/14 7:31 AM
TJSEWS said...
You did a fantastic job! The dress is gorgeous and you look beautiful!
2/17/14 1:02 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress and very flattering on you!
2/17/14 1:22 PM
ggf2005 said...
great job and you know cutting out all those pieces is so worth it!
2/18/14 1:24 PM
prettytall said...
Fits better on you than on the model! Great job.
3/3/14 12:33 PM
prettytall said...
Fits better on you than on the model! Great job.
3/3/14 12:33 PM
chenille said...
Thanks for all your kind words! I'm still learning about my fit issues as I am only a "half" petite. Now to see if I can repeat a good fit on my next project...
3/5/14 10:44 AM
madbadger said...
I love the dress and your fabric choice!
6/21/14 6:05 PM
ceejayem said...
thanks for such a thorough review... you have achieved an excellent result, look forward to seeing subsequent versions.
7/17/14 7:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Candice

Candice

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now