SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Master Pattern Book> Alabama Sewing/Design (Fitted Tunic)

6 more reviews
Viewed 167 times 
Reviewed by:devviePuu
photo

 
 
About devviePuustar
NY
Member since: 1/11/10
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/14 2:50 PM
Last Updated:2/18/14 2:56 PM
Project Photo:Master Pattern Book: Alabama Sewing/Design by devviePuu

Master Pattern Book: Alabama Sewing/Design by devviePuu  Master Pattern Book: Alabama Sewing/Design by devviePuu  
Pattern Photo: Master Pattern Book Pattern Info

More Info provided by devviePuu

Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cashmere  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
fitted t-shirt top with jewel neckline and sleeve options (cap sleeve, short sleeve, etc).

Pattern Sizing:
XS, S, M, L, XL. i made an XS/S.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
thorough, wonderful instructions with plenty of detail for the signature alabama chanin hand embellishments. the book also contains instruction on techniques including embroidery, applique, quilting and stenciling.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
i love how easy the pattern is to use and to adapt. it's a basic that can be made over and over in infinite variations.

Fabric Used:
cashmere recut from an oversized short-sleeved cashmere sweater that was my mother's

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
i adapted the pattern to create a design inspired by the chanel 2013 collection - a cropped sweater done all over in the signature chanel camelia and draped with strings of pearl beads

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
this is my go-to basic t-shirt pattern. i use it for almost everything that starts as a basic knit bodice.

full post at puu's door of time.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Absolutely amazing work. My first re-action was "where did she find this fabric - must have cost a bundle" then I read your blog and was so impressed with your creative work. Well done!
2/18/14 3:31 PM
Sew Good said...
Awesome creativity! Absolutely LOVE it!
2/18/14 10:00 PM
Jrhee said...
Very stylish!
2/18/14 10:59 PM
PattiinATL said...
This is fantastic. I love how this looks. great job!
2/19/14 6:45 AM
Karine said...
Your sweater is amazing! How lucky you are to have a stash of repurposed cashmere!
2/19/14 9:39 AM
chenille said...
Wow! So cool!
2/21/14 2:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now