SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Oliver + S> OS036FT (Fairy Tale Dress)

12 more reviews
Review submitted in Inspired By The Movies Contest
Viewed 808 times 
Reviewed by:KamiSue2
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KamiSue2star
USA
Member since: 1/12/11
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/14 11:40 AM
Last Updated:2/24/14 12:01 PM
Project Photo:Oliver + S: OS036FT by KamiSue2

Pattern Photo:Oliver + S OS036FT
Oliver + S Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
Argghh! I tried to upload the photo of this dress several times and it wouldn't load! So here's the link. Click Here
Pattern Description:
This is a beautiful dress, and makes up wonderfully. I entered it in the Inspired by the Movies contest, and my inspiration was The Parent Trap. Like these from the dance. I have to admit though, that this is a frankenpattern. I used the top half of the Oliver+S pattern and made a modified neckline and collar, the bottom half from Advance 9647, (Click Here for Advance Pattern) and planned on it looking (mostly) like the Advance pattern. However since I constructed it entirely following the Oliver+S pattern, I chose to review that one.
Pattern Sizing:
Ah, this was the tricky part. I made this dress for my 10 yr old niece who is EXTREMELY tall--well 5'3", that's tall for a 10 yr old right? Anyway, she's like a stick and loves ruffley little girl stuff still, but she doesn't fit anything child size anymore (at least not height-wise.) So my sister asked me to make her a dress, but she lives far far away. Hence there was a lot of guessing on my part what size to make. I used Oliver+S size 10 width-wise (she has no bust yet--which is why I didn't use the Advance pattern on the bodice at all) and size 12 height-wise.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
No, not like either completely.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, I love the Oliver+S patterns, at least the two I've tried, SO easy to follow.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like both patterns, I guess I would say the most challenging part was adjusting the neckline and making a new collar, so it had a bataeu neckline like the Advance pattern. I used this wonderful tutorial online to draw out the new collar. Draft a collar And I just guessed with the neckline. Again I had no one to fit it too.
Fabric Used:
Quilting cotton. And then a poly-cotton shirting for lining, with tulle to make it poof more.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Well, to give a complete run-down, I used the sleeves and bodice from the Oliver+S pattern redrafted with a bateau neckline and collar, and then the skirt and bow from the Advance pattern with no changes.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, in fact, I plan on doing the same thing again almost, with a few more changes to make another dress for the same niece this next month. Hopefully it will work.
Conclusion:
Fun, fun, I love the 1950's/60's poofy dresses. Easy enough to make too, once I finished all the modifications. But my sister said the sleeves were a bit tight, and that she wanted the dress longer and that the bodice was a bit short. I think the bodice and skirt length are perfect, but I guess she's worried her daughter will grow another inch this summer. Ah well, I guess I'll make the next one bigger.
PS I know the cowboy boots kill the outfit. I had no part in that.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Adorable dress! I remember loving The Parent Trap at your niece's age.
2/24/14 12:56 PM
AnneM said...
I'd call 5'3" tall for a 10 year old, since it is my height. Shows how flexible the style is; with the boots it reminds me of Little House on the Prairie. Great job on the dress, and I expect she will need another by the end of the summer!
2/24/14 3:05 PM
Raye Ann said...
Adorable dress! I do think it is perfectly sized right now, hope it isn't outgrown too quickly!
2/24/14 10:03 PM
kushami said...
I like the cowboy boots :-) Lovely sewing and you achieved a great fit from afar!
2/24/14 11:34 PM
caper81 said...
haha, cute! I loved The Parent Trap movie!:)
2/25/14 8:28 AM
Quickie said...
Very nice sweet dress for sweet memories
2/26/14 10:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress. I adored The Parent Trap.
2/28/14 6:32 AM
sewcrazee said...
Love the dress and what 10 year old wouldnt like to wear boots..lol
2/28/14 1:55 PM
Pj3g said...
She looks lovely in that pretty dress!
2/28/14 5:06 PM
Hilary said...
Oh my Gosh, she's adorable!!! Yep I think she's tall for ten; my own 10 yr old girl is only about 4'9" give or take :D And I LOVE it with the boots (but then I'm from Texas :D ). You should see some of the outfits my DD comes up with-LO! This is very conservative :o) Well done, your niece is lucky to have you!
2/28/14 11:51 PM
Annie P said...
Lovely dress. Love the boots with it.
3/2/14 8:06 PM
ASiverson said...
LOVE IT!
3/4/14 2:45 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress!
3/9/14 7:54 AM
KamiSue2 said...
Ha. Ha. Okay, I take it all back about the boots!!! Thanks all--she loves it, so I'm glad about that.
3/15/14 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 3978

photo
by: sewnotwork

Review
Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Petite Plus 302 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now