Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5960 (Misses' Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/14 5:48 PM


Butterick: 5960 by solosmocker  Butterick: 5960 by solosmocker  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Smonks said... (1/20/15 1:43 AM) Reply
hello thanks for this review, It has made me realise that this pattern is not for me. Your version looks great but I need to get a few more tailoring skills under my belt before I have ago at this. As soon as I read your bath robe comment I realised that is exactly what the photo on the Butterick web site look like, phew you saved me from a disaster.
Js1747 said... (11/8/14 10:12 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for the helpful hints. I'm getting ready to make this coat for myself and will incorporate many of your suggestions. I haven't used sew-in interfacing before. My fabric is a really nice faux seude (I'm allergic to wool, angora, etc). Any suggestions on the interfacing?
Nana27 said... (2/25/14 6:07 AM) Reply
Bunny, your coat is beautiful and has wonderful detail. It looks great on you.
becca a said... (2/24/14 6:09 PM) Reply
This is a lovely, classic coat. It looks so soft and warm. All those weeks of work have paid off.
Danvillegirl said... (2/24/14 5:19 AM) Reply
Great coat! It looks much better than the pattern envelope.
dolcevita said... (2/24/14 4:42 AM) Reply
Superb coat. The photos don't do justice to the quality of the work that you've put into this coat, Bunny, and I'll say it again - your work really is sublime!
MrsCharisma said... (2/23/14 10:06 PM) Reply
Gorgeous coat. I love the extra details, like the chain.
TJSEWS said... (2/23/14 9:16 PM) Reply
I love your version so much better than the pattern's! Gorgeous.
said... (2/23/14 8:13 PM) Reply
Thanks for the lovely comments. I've reviewed many garments but in the last "snafu" on PR had to re-register and it would only take a new name. I formerly posted as Solosmocker and my reviews can be seen under that name still.
JudyMac said... (2/23/14 7:01 PM) Reply
Gorgeous. You will be both toasty warm and well-tailored.
Jstarr4250 said... (2/23/14 6:14 PM) Reply
What a lovely coat...a classic style and fabric you will no doubt wear for many years. Congrats on your first review - it's nice to see you on PR. I'm a fan of your blog.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS
Fun with Fitting - SKIRTS

Class Details

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Pattern Details
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Pattern Details