SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5960 (Misses' Coat)

Viewed 329 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/14 5:48 PM


Butterick: 5960 by solosmocker  Butterick: 5960 by solosmocker  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Smonks said... (1/20/15 1:43 AM) Reply
hello thanks for this review, It has made me realise that this pattern is not for me. Your version looks great but I need to get a few more tailoring skills under my belt before I have ago at this. As soon as I read your bath robe comment I realised that is exactly what the photo on the Butterick web site look like, phew you saved me from a disaster.
Js1747 said... (11/8/14 10:12 PM) Reply
Thank you so much for the helpful hints. I'm getting ready to make this coat for myself and will incorporate many of your suggestions. I haven't used sew-in interfacing before. My fabric is a really nice faux seude (I'm allergic to wool, angora, etc). Any suggestions on the interfacing?
Nana27 said... (2/25/14 6:07 AM) Reply
Bunny, your coat is beautiful and has wonderful detail. It looks great on you.
becca a said... (2/24/14 6:09 PM) Reply
This is a lovely, classic coat. It looks so soft and warm. All those weeks of work have paid off.
Danvillegirl said... (2/24/14 5:19 AM) Reply
Great coat! It looks much better than the pattern envelope.
dolcevita said... (2/24/14 4:42 AM) Reply
Superb coat. The photos don't do justice to the quality of the work that you've put into this coat, Bunny, and I'll say it again - your work really is sublime!
MrsCharisma said... (2/23/14 10:06 PM) Reply
Gorgeous coat. I love the extra details, like the chain.
TJSEWS said... (2/23/14 9:16 PM) Reply
I love your version so much better than the pattern's! Gorgeous.
said... (2/23/14 8:13 PM) Reply
Thanks for the lovely comments. I've reviewed many garments but in the last "snafu" on PR had to re-register and it would only take a new name. I formerly posted as Solosmocker and my reviews can be seen under that name still.
JudyMac said... (2/23/14 7:01 PM) Reply
Gorgeous. You will be both toasty warm and well-tailored.
Jstarr4250 said... (2/23/14 6:14 PM) Reply
What a lovely coat...a classic style and fabric you will no doubt wear for many years. Congrats on your first review - it's nice to see you on PR. I'm a fan of your blog.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Pattern Details
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Pattern Details