SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6630 (Making History)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1297 times 
Reviewed by:jenka
photo

 
 
About jenka
NA GERMANY
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/05 9:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
I don't normally read costume reviews but I'm glad I saw your photo! What a beautiful gown - very wicked indeed. :-)
6/7/05 9:46 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
*thud* Wow, your dress is BEAUTIFUL!!! Vey dramatic and intimidating.
6/7/05 11:45 AM
Janie Viers said...
You might need a full bust adjustment if you are larger than a B cup. This is the perfect Lucretia Borgia dress! I seldom ease sleeves anymore, choosing to sew with the sleeve against the feed dogs to facilitate easing. Or you can ease on the sleeve by "crowding" which just means you sew the ease line while keeping your finger behind the presser foot to "crowd" the fabric. JanieV
6/7/05 12:15 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, beautiful!! Very dramatic, that fabric is luscious!
6/7/05 1:27 PM
Tiner W said...
I wanna be a wicked queen!!! Or at least wear the dress!
6/7/05 2:05 PM
Mary Reed said...
Jenka - several reviewers on the Greater Bay Area Costumer's Guild (gbacg.org) say that this particular pattern needs a full bust adjustment if you have ANY bust. One "nearly A" reviewer said it fit her perfectly. I love your dress!
6/7/05 4:12 PM
Annika said...
Another stunning costume! Love your sense of drama, choice of colors. Great job! You're an inspiration.
6/7/05 4:29 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Fantastic!
6/7/05 5:46 PM
KiwiWendy said...
oooh, who wouldn't want to be the wicked queen if we had your dress!
6/7/05 7:15 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I love your fabric choices as well. Great costume!
6/7/05 10:15 PM
Kris32 said...
Wow. Wow. That is cool. Nice work!
6/7/05 11:30 PM
gabrielle said...
Beautiful, and you must wear it again.
6/8/05 0:01 AM
Quesie said...
What remarkable costumes you've made. I look forward to learning more about how you've learned to sew, and what you wear when you're not in royal garments! More details about your custom designing, please! That collar is mindboggling.
6/8/05 0:34 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute. Great adaptation of the pattern for a different use. And it sounds like this pattern would be just perfect for my bust! ;)
6/8/05 4:35 AM
flowermama said...
Sooo cool, I love your adaptation into the wicked queen!
6/10/05 1:29 AM
Liv said...
How beautiful! I just finished all your reviews, and your dresses have left me inspired and awestruck! They are beautifully made! I'd love to see more!
10/18/05 2:32 PM
Kristina Leigh said...
I'm guessing that the reason for bust adjustment issues is because of the ideal shape of the Empire/Regency period. The whole style of the era isn't very busty-type friendly. I'm curious about the gowns of the larger women, because we rarely see them. Maybe that should be my next research topic...hmm...
1/22/06 10:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Akiko Mano

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Buy Now