Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6630 (Making History) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 1292 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:jenka
photo
About jenka
NA GERMANY
Member since: 6/7/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/05 9:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
I don't normally read costume reviews but I'm glad I saw your photo! What a beautiful gown - very wicked indeed. :-)
6/7/05 9:46 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
*thud* Wow, your dress is BEAUTIFUL!!! Vey dramatic and intimidating.
6/7/05 11:45 AM
Janie Viers said...
You might need a full bust adjustment if you are larger than a B cup. This is the perfect Lucretia Borgia dress! I seldom ease sleeves anymore, choosing to sew with the sleeve against the feed dogs to facilitate easing. Or you can ease on the sleeve by "crowding" which just means you sew the ease line while keeping your finger behind the presser foot to "crowd" the fabric. JanieV
6/7/05 12:15 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, beautiful!! Very dramatic, that fabric is luscious!
6/7/05 1:27 PM
Tiner W said...
I wanna be a wicked queen!!! Or at least wear the dress!
6/7/05 2:05 PM
Mary Reed said...
Jenka - several reviewers on the Greater Bay Area Costumer's Guild (gbacg.org) say that this particular pattern needs a full bust adjustment if you have ANY bust. One "nearly A" reviewer said it fit her perfectly. I love your dress!
6/7/05 4:12 PM
Annika said...
Another stunning costume! Love your sense of drama, choice of colors. Great job! You're an inspiration.
6/7/05 4:29 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Fantastic!
6/7/05 5:46 PM
KiwiWendy said...
oooh, who wouldn't want to be the wicked queen if we had your dress!
6/7/05 7:15 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I love your fabric choices as well. Great costume!
6/7/05 10:15 PM
Kris32 said...
Wow. Wow. That is cool. Nice work!
6/7/05 11:30 PM
gabrielle said...
Beautiful, and you must wear it again.
6/8/05 0:01 AM
Quesie said...
What remarkable costumes you've made. I look forward to learning more about how you've learned to sew, and what you wear when you're not in royal garments! More details about your custom designing, please! That collar is mindboggling.
6/8/05 0:34 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute. Great adaptation of the pattern for a different use. And it sounds like this pattern would be just perfect for my bust! ;)
6/8/05 4:35 AM
flowermama said...
Sooo cool, I love your adaptation into the wicked queen!
6/10/05 1:29 AM
Liv said...
How beautiful! I just finished all your reviews, and your dresses have left me inspired and awestruck! They are beautifully made! I'd love to see more!
10/18/05 2:32 PM
Kristina Leigh said...
I'm guessing that the reason for bust adjustment issues is because of the ideal shape of the Empire/Regency period. The whole style of the era isn't very busty-type friendly. I'm curious about the gowns of the larger women, because we rarely see them. Maybe that should be my next research topic...hmm...
1/22/06 10:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-117 blouse
photo
Review by lilyofthev... on 4/27/08
Read Review

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Frayed Rosette Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Cowboy Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3677
photo
Review by KamiSue2 on 12/5/11
Read Review

Butterick 5510 Pattern ( Size NB-SML-MED )
Butterick 5510 Pattern ( Size NB-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 4-6 )
McCalls 6234 Pattern ( Size 4-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us