SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1805 (Misses and Plus Tops)

18 more reviews
Viewed 387 times 
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/14 9:56 PM
Last Updated:3/6/14 6:45 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1805 by knitsewmuch

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1805
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Pattern Description: Misses & Plus Size pullover knit top in two lengths with sleeve variations. I made view A.

Pattern Sizing: XXS to XXL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes although I didn't follow them--made this pattern a few times already.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Very easy and very quick. Dolman sleeve but not so much fabric under the arm that you can't wear it with a cardigan. This is my go to knit blouse pattern.

Fabric Used: ITY knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Added Bra strap carriers to keep bra straps hidden. I'd sewn this pattern before I found I kept checking to see if my bra strap was showing. With the carriers I no longer have this problem.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes

Conclusion: my favorite go to pattern for knit tops.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Nice job! Good to know there isn't a lot of fabric in the underarms. I love your fabric choice :)
2/25/14 10:30 PM
Curly26 said...
Great shirt. Love the fabric.
2/25/14 11:00 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice top and like the fabric.
2/26/14 5:14 AM
jlg said...
Fantastic top on you!
2/26/14 6:08 AM
Danmar said...
Very nice top and fabric
2/26/14 6:22 AM
canei said...
Another nice one!
2/26/14 7:17 AM
caper81 said...
Great top & thanks for including the link to the bra strap carriers! I will definitely use those in the future:)
2/26/14 7:25 AM
halleyscomet said...
Cut top and thanks for the tutorial for the bra strap carriers.
2/26/14 7:53 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Love it. It's been in my stash a while and after your version I'm sure it will move up in the queue!
2/26/14 10:11 AM
meadowclark said...
Looks amazing.
3/6/14 11:47 PM
canei said...
Nice! Love the fabric. I see you are getting good use of your pattern. I may add this to my wish list. Thanks for sharing your review.
3/7/14 7:39 AM
Elke said...
Very cute and terrific fit!
3/7/14 8:54 AM
Sew WYO said...
Very nice! You did a great job and it looks terrific on you.
3/13/14 2:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 3393

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 8834

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now