SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1170 (Misses' Top And Skirt)

16 more reviews
Viewed 194 times 
Reviewed by:aaltje
photo

 
 
About aaltjestar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 8/22/11
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/14 4:01 PM
Last Updated:2/27/14 4:04 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1170 by aaltje

Vogue Patterns: 1170 by aaltje  Vogue Patterns: 1170 by aaltje  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1170
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
(sorry for the closed eyes on the photo)
Pattern Description:
Misses' Top and Skirt
Pattern Sizing:
4-6-8-10
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I think it did, only a bit longer.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they were pretty clear.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the clean finish on the inside, I like the flounce of the skirt and the nice seam lines (but no side seams in the flouncy part, I love that). I just love the way it is constructed, though I had a bit of a struggle with the corners in the front, to get them exactly even, and flat, but I do like them (and should practice it a little more).
I didn't like the strangely placed pockets very much and the waistband is a bit too wide I guess.
Fabric Used:
I have absolutely no idea. It has a particular shine to it, from a distance it almost looks like leather but it totally isn't.
Not too flattering pictures, but well, you can see the front.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- I made the bottom part a bit longer, I read several reviews advising that, I followed it, because I thought al these reviewed and longer skirts were prettier than the very short one on the envelope.
- I left out the facing at the bottom seam of the skirt. I did attach it at first, and finish it with bias tape, but it made the skirt stand out in a weird way, so I removed that facing and replaced it with a "normal" fold-over seam.
- I used a visible metal zip at the back.
Close-up of the zip
- The Hong Kong finish was a first to me, and I love it, though I had to remove it from some seams, because it made the skirt a bit too tight (particularly the seam that starts directly under my bottom, that was a bit odd, like it was carrying my buttocks. Removing the binding made it al a bit flouncier. I guess I should have made a larger size - I am more a size 10 at the bottom than the 8 I made, I guess. That was my main lesson learned.
Pictures of the back
The purple binding (I love purple!)
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think I might sew it again, maybe in a printed fabric. And the larger size, with a narrower waistband.
Conclusion:
A great and original, different, and I think flattering skirt!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
That is so interesting and cute looking on you. I've never seen anything quite like that.
2/27/14 4:35 PM
Sew Good said...
Oh, that's a fun skirt! I like it :) I hope you make the top too!
2/27/14 9:34 PM
BJHM said...
THANKS much for your review! You really look great in it with that turquoise sweater. The purple binding is like a little fun surprise, too! (But if you get a chance could you explain what you meant by, "I left out the interfacing of the seam of the skirt. I did attach it, and finish it with bias tape, but it made the skirt stand out in a weird way, so I removed it and replaced it with a "normal" seam." I couldn't figure out what seam (around the zip?) or if you were talking about the waistband...? Grateful for your help and patience!)
2/28/14 3:30 AM
aaltje said...
BHJM: the finishing of the seam at the bottom of the skirt should have a facing according to the pattern (oh I made a mistake, not interfacing, the bottom seam is finished with a facing). I omitted that facing. I will try to clarify that in the review, thanks for pointing this out! Hopefully it is understandable now.
2/28/14 4:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now