Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1170 (Misses' Top And Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 170 times 15 more reviews
Reviewed by:aaltje
photo
About aaltjestar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 8/22/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/14 4:01 PM
Last Updated:2/27/14 4:04 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1170 by aaltje

Vogue Patterns: 1170 by aaltje  Vogue Patterns: 1170 by aaltje  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1170
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
(sorry for the closed eyes on the photo)
Pattern Description:
Misses' Top and Skirt
Pattern Sizing:
4-6-8-10
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I think it did, only a bit longer.
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, they were pretty clear.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the clean finish on the inside, I like the flounce of the skirt and the nice seam lines (but no side seams in the flouncy part, I love that). I just love the way it is constructed, though I had a bit of a struggle with the corners in the front, to get them exactly even, and flat, but I do like them (and should practice it a little more).
I didn't like the strangely placed pockets very much and the waistband is a bit too wide I guess.
Fabric Used:
I have absolutely no idea. It has a particular shine to it, from a distance it almost looks like leather but it totally isn't.
Not too flattering pictures, but well, you can see the front.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- I made the bottom part a bit longer, I read several reviews advising that, I followed it, because I thought al these reviewed and longer skirts were prettier than the very short one on the envelope.
- I left out the facing at the bottom seam of the skirt. I did attach it at first, and finish it with bias tape, but it made the skirt stand out in a weird way, so I removed that facing and replaced it with a "normal" fold-over seam.
- I used a visible metal zip at the back.
Close-up of the zip
- The Hong Kong finish was a first to me, and I love it, though I had to remove it from some seams, because it made the skirt a bit too tight (particularly the seam that starts directly under my bottom, that was a bit odd, like it was carrying my buttocks. Removing the binding made it al a bit flouncier. I guess I should have made a larger size - I am more a size 10 at the bottom than the 8 I made, I guess. That was my main lesson learned.
Pictures of the back
The purple binding (I love purple!)
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I think I might sew it again, maybe in a printed fabric. And the larger size, with a narrower waistband.
Conclusion:
A great and original, different, and I think flattering skirt!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
That is so interesting and cute looking on you. I've never seen anything quite like that.
2/27/14 4:35 PM
Sew Good said...
Oh, that's a fun skirt! I like it :) I hope you make the top too!
2/27/14 9:34 PM
BJHM said...
THANKS much for your review! You really look great in it with that turquoise sweater. The purple binding is like a little fun surprise, too! (But if you get a chance could you explain what you meant by, "I left out the interfacing of the seam of the skirt. I did attach it, and finish it with bias tape, but it made the skirt stand out in a weird way, so I removed it and replaced it with a "normal" seam." I couldn't figure out what seam (around the zip?) or if you were talking about the waistband...? Grateful for your help and patience!)
2/28/14 3:30 AM
aaltje said...
BHJM: the finishing of the seam at the bottom of the skirt should have a facing according to the pattern (oh I made a mistake, not interfacing, the bottom seam is finished with a facing). I omitted that facing. I will try to clarify that in the review, thanks for pointing this out! Hopefully it is understandable now.
2/28/14 4:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 8/6/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Tango Skirt
Loes Hinse Tango Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Enid Gilchrist Enid Gilchrist
photo
Review by sarahjk on 9/23/13
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us