SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6648 (Misses' Blouses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 212 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/14 4:32 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy

McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy  McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6648
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Very loose-fitting blouse has collar/sleeve variations, low armholes, and narrow hem
Pattern Sizing:sizes 6-22 I cut a size 22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yeah - I think it did

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were easy to follow, but I would never call this an EASY pattern. It's got a two piece yoke, collar, arm bands, two two piece plackets and yards and yards of hem... most of which need to be hand stitched down. I was a relatively beginner sewer when I started sewing this I was pretty overwhelmed by the number of pieces. However - the instructions were good...


What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?What I liked about the pattern was the loose easy feel to it - but in the end it was the same thing I disliked about it, on me. As a 'busty' girl with wide shoulders - when I add that extra 5-6" of fabric in that area it just feels frumpy to me.

Fabric Used:Cotton Gauze

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Made it straight out of the envelope

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I don't think I'll make it again. But I think it could work on other people. maybe someone who wants to balance a small top w/wider hips?

Conclusion: Ok pattern w/ok instructions but not really 'Easy' as suggested on the envelope. Also maybe not suitable for all body types so make sure you like a lot of fabric in your tops.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
I think it looks very nice on you. I love the fabric
2/27/14 7:51 PM
beginagain said...
Nice matching on front. Maybe remove that sleeve band and try narrowing the sleeve. I might try angling the hem.
2/27/14 10:28 PM
Samantha82 said...
I don't feel like the blouse is unflattering on you... I think if you added bust darts it would be a super shirt. Good job
2/28/14 0:13 AM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with beginagain. I think this blouse has potential, and if you could be bothered making changes, you might be able to turn it into something you like.
2/28/14 2:28 AM
PammyC said...
It looks nice on you, and the colors are very flattering
2/28/14 8:29 AM
Mc Donna said...
Super job on matching the print. Looks like a nice comfy top. As others said, you may want to play with the cut and make something you'd be happy with.
2/28/14 9:52 AM
LizJ58 said...
I'm a size 18/20 and have this on my list. But I'm using a mesh knit (plan to line the bodice). I think doing this shirt in a fabric with a softer hand and more drape might be more flattering on a more curvy woman.I'm thinking of now the sleeve width a little now, after seeing your review.
2/28/14 3:41 PM
grey ann said...
In a fitting session I learned that many women are sewing with a pattern that is too big - this happens because we go by the bust measurement. But if you are larger than a B cup, that means the blouse will be too big in the shoulders, etc. Start with the upper bust measurement, and then do a Full bust adjustment. (Google it - lots of info out there.) It's not difficult to do. This will give you a better fitting bodice. If you are larger than a B cup, you will always need a dart or seam shaping (princess) or you must expect a looser baggier fit. While your blouse doesn't look awful, I think the extra fabric in the sleeves and the very large armscyes add extra fabric that you don't need. It is pretty though, and you did a good job placing the print.
3/1/14 11:30 AM
jjosiejo said...
I am so impressed with your pattern matching - great job! This would work really well with some linen trousers and sandals on a hot summer day... Not frumpy at all!
3/2/14 5:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Other 07072008

photo
by: julliams

Review
Simplicity vintage 4101

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now