SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6648 (Misses' Blouses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/14 4:32 PM


McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy  McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jjosiejo said...
I am so impressed with your pattern matching - great job! This would work really well with some linen trousers and sandals on a hot summer day... Not frumpy at all!
3/2/14 5:11 AM
grey ann said...
In a fitting session I learned that many women are sewing with a pattern that is too big - this happens because we go by the bust measurement. But if you are larger than a B cup, that means the blouse will be too big in the shoulders, etc. Start with the upper bust measurement, and then do a Full bust adjustment. (Google it - lots of info out there.) It's not difficult to do. This will give you a better fitting bodice. If you are larger than a B cup, you will always need a dart or seam shaping (princess) or you must expect a looser baggier fit. While your blouse doesn't look awful, I think the extra fabric in the sleeves and the very large armscyes add extra fabric that you don't need. It is pretty though, and you did a good job placing the print.
3/1/14 11:30 AM
LizJ58 said...
I'm a size 18/20 and have this on my list. But I'm using a mesh knit (plan to line the bodice). I think doing this shirt in a fabric with a softer hand and more drape might be more flattering on a more curvy woman.I'm thinking of now the sleeve width a little now, after seeing your review.
2/28/14 3:41 PM
Mc Donna said...
Super job on matching the print. Looks like a nice comfy top. As others said, you may want to play with the cut and make something you'd be happy with.
2/28/14 9:52 AM
PammyC said...
It looks nice on you, and the colors are very flattering
2/28/14 8:29 AM
FreyaStark said...
I agree with beginagain. I think this blouse has potential, and if you could be bothered making changes, you might be able to turn it into something you like.
2/28/14 2:28 AM
Samantha82 said...
I don't feel like the blouse is unflattering on you... I think if you added bust darts it would be a super shirt. Good job
2/28/14 0:13 AM
beginagain said...
Nice matching on front. Maybe remove that sleeve band and try narrowing the sleeve. I might try angling the hem.
2/27/14 10:28 PM
nothy lane said...
I think it looks very nice on you. I love the fabric
2/27/14 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 7387

photo
by: Cosso

Review
You Sew Girl You Sew Girl Book

photo
by: lucylal

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now