SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6648 (Misses' Blouses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:SAMBoddy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SAMBoddystar
CA USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/14 4:32 PM


McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy  McCall's: 6648 by SAMBoddy  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jjosiejo said... (3/2/14 5:11 AM) Reply
I am so impressed with your pattern matching - great job! This would work really well with some linen trousers and sandals on a hot summer day... Not frumpy at all!
grey ann said... (3/1/14 11:30 AM) Reply
In a fitting session I learned that many women are sewing with a pattern that is too big - this happens because we go by the bust measurement. But if you are larger than a B cup, that means the blouse will be too big in the shoulders, etc. Start with the upper bust measurement, and then do a Full bust adjustment. (Google it - lots of info out there.) It's not difficult to do. This will give you a better fitting bodice. If you are larger than a B cup, you will always need a dart or seam shaping (princess) or you must expect a looser baggier fit. While your blouse doesn't look awful, I think the extra fabric in the sleeves and the very large armscyes add extra fabric that you don't need. It is pretty though, and you did a good job placing the print.
LizJ58 said... (2/28/14 3:41 PM) Reply
I'm a size 18/20 and have this on my list. But I'm using a mesh knit (plan to line the bodice). I think doing this shirt in a fabric with a softer hand and more drape might be more flattering on a more curvy woman.I'm thinking of now the sleeve width a little now, after seeing your review.
Mc Donna said... (2/28/14 9:52 AM) Reply
Super job on matching the print. Looks like a nice comfy top. As others said, you may want to play with the cut and make something you'd be happy with.
PammyC said... (2/28/14 8:29 AM) Reply
It looks nice on you, and the colors are very flattering
FreyaStark said... (2/28/14 2:28 AM) Reply
I agree with beginagain. I think this blouse has potential, and if you could be bothered making changes, you might be able to turn it into something you like.
Samantha82 said... (2/28/14 0:13 AM) Reply
I don't feel like the blouse is unflattering on you... I think if you added bust darts it would be a super shirt. Good job
beginagain said... (2/27/14 10:28 PM) Reply
Nice matching on front. Maybe remove that sleeve band and try narrowing the sleeve. I might try angling the hem.
nothy lane said... (2/27/14 7:51 PM) Reply
I think it looks very nice on you. I love the fabric
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Deer&Doe Dress Belladone

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 10-2012-425

photo
by: GermanKlei...

Review