SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2774 (Women's Misses Dress/Tunic)

13 more reviews
Viewed 381 times 
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/14 1:58 PM
Last Updated:3/3/14 12:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2774 by knitsewmuch

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2774
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Women's/Misses Dress in 3 lengths and Tunic
Pattern Sizing:
Sizes 10 to 28W. I made a size 20W blending to size 22 W at the hip line
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?This is a flattering style in my opinion. No dislikes.

Fabric Used: ITY knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Size 20 blended to size 22 at hip. Also made sleeve larger and shorter using the sleeve from views D, E, F. Swayback adjustment but likely it wasn't needed. Somehow the front ended up being noticeably longer than the back so had to take a deeper hem in center front and blended back to specified hem depth at the side seam. Also sewed center front seam higher for modesty.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes. Think I will sew the dress length next time.

Conclusion:
This is a pretty easy pattern to sew. The style is forgiving and hides the extra curves around the middle.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Flattering fit and very pretty!
3/1/14 2:13 PM
sewing for fun said...
Your top is beautiful! So much prettier than the pattern envelope - they need to hire you to provide the pattern photo - they would sell a LOT more.
3/1/14 2:18 PM
Sheseams said...
Another example of how much better it looks on you then it does on the person on the pattern envelope :-)
3/1/14 2:28 PM
Sheseams said...
Another example of how much better it looks on you then it does on the person on the pattern envelope :-)
3/1/14 2:29 PM
MrsCharisma said...
10x better than the envelope! Gorgeous!
3/1/14 2:56 PM
Boo97 said...
Lovely!
3/1/14 7:03 PM
Cuffs said...
Flattering is right! Love the style and fabric. Perfect fit. It just looks great on you!
3/1/14 7:10 PM
prttynpnk said...
Yes Ma`am! Even if I didn't adore animal print I would still adore this! Nicely done..
3/1/14 7:35 PM
wildberrymom said...
Beautiful top!
3/2/14 1:51 AM
grey ann said...
Very flattering! Looks great.
3/2/14 8:51 AM
canei said...
VERY flattering!!!
3/2/14 9:12 AM
GrammaSewn said...
Very nice!
3/2/14 6:26 PM
thestitcher said...
LOVE it!
3/3/14 12:28 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
UBER flattering!!
3/3/14 3:55 PM
beanchor said...
This is very well done. Fun print and fit.
3/3/14 10:45 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
This looks fabulous on you. I'm going to have to add this to my stash and hope I look as good as you do when I get around to sewing it!
3/3/14 10:51 PM
txcwgrlmom said...
Much nicer than the envelope I agree. I might consider this pattern now.
3/3/14 11:30 PM
knitsewmuch said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments.
3/4/14 7:40 AM
norie creates said...
Love this and gorgeous print!
3/4/14 2:05 PM
Lagolden2 said...
That is quite a sassy top. It looks fabulous on and is well constructed. Your top exudes fun, fun, and more fun.
3/9/14 7:01 PM
Alpine Queen said...
I picked this pattern out last year and didn't get it. I was wondering if I'm still interested now that I have other new patterns. It looks fantastic on you, I think I'm going to continue wanting it!
4/11/14 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Butterick 5611

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review
McCall's 4936

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now