SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 1955 (Lorraine Baines dress)

Review submitted in Inspired By The Movies Contest
Viewed 708 times 
Reviewed by:Coucou
photo

 
 
About Coucou
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/10/12
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/14 9:47 PM
Last Updated:3/5/14 5:04 AM
Project Photo:Self Drafted Pattern: 1955 by Coucou

Self Drafted Pattern: 1955 by Coucou  Self Drafted Pattern: 1955 by Coucou  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Coucou

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag: Back to the Future  La Robe A Caro  
Fabric:Polyester Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
I grew up with the movie Back to the Future, and as 2015 is getting closer, my love for 1955 style is increasing! I just couldn't resist this challenge (my first!) and wearing in time for Carnival and Mardi Gras! Hope you enjoy it too.

Pattern Description:
Fitted Bodice with tied back straps ( that can easily be concealed inside the dress), full circle skirt with French seams on sides, rolled hem on both fabric and invisible zipper.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the contrasting top band and the sheer fabric flows beautifully.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, the fun part with La Robe a Caro's style is that it is very versatile, and you can mix and match every piece!

Conclusion:
A lot of work, but I can't wait to "twist and shout" in it!!!!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regal80 said...
LOVE IT!!! It looks gorgeous :)
2/28/14 11:57 PM
KathleenS said...
That's gorgeous. I love all the colours in the skirt, and the great swishy photo. Great work.
3/1/14 0:20 AM
AnneM said...
Wow. You are going to be dancing all night in that dress! Great job on it. Love that contrast top band detail that you captured.
3/1/14 6:33 AM
madbadger said...
Very pretty!
3/1/14 8:36 AM
Quickie said...
Now a great party and you will be the absolute queen
3/1/14 9:55 AM
hopflower said...
This is absolutely gorgeous.
3/1/14 11:06 AM
KamiSue2 said...
Oh! I love it! Seriously.
3/1/14 2:05 PM
Jeffer said...
Love the dress!! Thanks so much for the links to the various tips - especially the rolled hem on sheer fabric. I am going to try that.
3/1/14 2:09 PM
Chococat said...
Love that movie, and love that dress. Awesome work.
3/2/14 4:29 PM
Satyne said...
So pretty!
3/3/14 10:04 AM
agirlnamedkatie said...
Love it! I almost chose to use Back to the Future as my inspiration too! I absolutely love that series. Great work!
3/3/14 10:56 AM
dasm said...
Beautiful !
3/3/14 6:52 PM
ltinuviel said...
It's so beautiful!!
3/4/14 1:28 PM
knitsewmuch said...
Beautiful!
3/5/14 5:34 AM
msschiel said...
One of my favorite trilogies! Looks great.
3/5/14 7:24 AM
msladyj said...
This is beautiful.
3/5/14 7:55 AM
Thenikkihuff said...
Love this dress and Love Back to the Future! Absolutely genius!
3/5/14 11:49 AM
butterflyfly said...
Great dress and beautiful photos!
3/5/14 6:38 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous = you look wonderful and so femiinine - have fun "twisting and shouting" am sure you will be the hit of the show
3/5/14 9:02 PM
georgieb said...
This is Great! Very pretty!!
3/6/14 9:53 AM
Margaret said...
What fun! I love all the layers and the subtle color combination!
3/7/14 7:27 AM
Coucou said...
Thank you all very much!! I'm sorry there isn't much details in here... I'll be putting more pictures on my page www.facebook.com/laRobeACaro ♥♥♥
3/9/14 8:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Burda Burda Style Handbook

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Jalie 2796

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now