SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5954 (Misses' Tunic)

17 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/14 7:00 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5954 by STARG

Butterick: 5954 by STARG  Butterick: 5954 by STARG  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5954
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Close-fitting and flared, pullover tunic has front variations, shaped hemline. Sleeve options include: sleeveless, short, 3/4 or long.

Pattern Sizing:
XS (4-6) thru XXL (24 - 26)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes - very easy and quick to make.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I made a size Medium, but probably could have gone down to a size Small. It's fairly roomy, but quite comfortable at the same time. I like the big collar and the flowing fullness of the hemline.

Fabric Used:
Polyester knit leftover from this project.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Since I was using the remaining yardage from a previous project, I had to work with the odd shaped fabric pieces that I had. I didn't have enough yardage to make both front pieces have vertical stripes, so one of them has horizontal stripes instead. Also, I needed to piece strips together to have enough fabric to cut out the collar in one piece. More of this process can been seen on my blog.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes. After looking at other reviews on this same blouse, when I get tired of the flared hem, I'll just get rid of the flare and have a more columnar styled top and it will be brand new again! I see an alteration project in my future!

Conclusion:
Super easy blouse and very comfortable to wear.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
frame said...
I like it.
3/1/14 7:08 PM
EleanorSews said...
The need to use stripes in different directions was a nice consequence of using pieces. Creates a fun look.
3/1/14 7:19 PM
mary in FL said...
I like how you mixed up the stripes for the collar!
3/1/14 8:38 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, how adorable! I love your creativity with the fabric!
3/1/14 10:43 PM
Pj3g said...
Looks wonderful! I love it!
3/1/14 11:31 PM
Baja Susana said...
I love it, and you cleverly juxtaposed the stripes to add interest.
3/1/14 11:58 PM
wildberrymom said...
Such an interesting pattern! You have a very nice tunic and it looks great on you.
3/2/14 1:37 AM
Karen R said...
Fabulous top , love it
3/2/14 1:53 AM
ceedee said...
You're shortage of fabric offered you a great design opportunity - adds more interest this way! Question: I prefer the front of your version - did you streamline the front from the waist down? Either way, a fun top!
3/2/14 4:51 AM
redside said...
Wonderful use of stripes!
3/2/14 10:36 AM
sacmabell said...
I like the mix of vertical and horizontal stripes. I bought this a few weeks ago, but have been nervous about the cross over.
3/2/14 12:18 PM
STARG said...
Ceedee: to answer your question there was no streamlining at all. The sides are as the pattern comes out of the envelope. My fabric was very drapey though. Hope that answers your question!
3/2/14 12:48 PM
ceedee said...
Well, it looks great; perhaps it's the drapey-ness (is that a word? lol) played a part in the different look. Thanks for the response; it's now on my wish list!
3/2/14 1:04 PM
sew2little said...
I love your change of direction on the stripes--with the added bonus of not needing to match the stripes! I wonder how this would look lengthened as a dress?
3/2/14 1:12 PM
lyndle said...
*Love* how you've used the stripes on this. It has turned out looks great.
3/2/14 2:17 PM
carolynw said...
A real 10+ Really creative use of the stripes. Thanks for sharing
3/2/14 3:42 PM
missyyz said...
Wow... I almost missed this review. Beautiful.
3/2/14 4:25 PM
ISewedIt said...
This is so cute!
3/2/14 7:15 PM
material excess said...
The design is cool to begin with, but the stripes really elevate it!
3/2/14 11:24 PM
threaddy said...
How fun! You added such a fabulous dimension with the stripes going in different directions. Butterick should put your picture on the pattern instead of theirs.
3/3/14 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's M5893

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now