SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5954 (Misses' Tunic)

22 more reviews
Viewed 679 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/14 7:00 PM


Butterick: 5954 by STARG  Butterick: 5954 by STARG  
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris W. in TN said...
I love the different directions of the stripes! This really gives the top some "pop". You did a fantastic job.
10/28/14 7:03 PM
threaddy said...
How fun! You added such a fabulous dimension with the stripes going in different directions. Butterick should put your picture on the pattern instead of theirs.
3/3/14 11:06 PM
material excess said...
The design is cool to begin with, but the stripes really elevate it!
3/2/14 11:24 PM
ISewedIt said...
This is so cute!
3/2/14 7:15 PM
missyyz said...
Wow... I almost missed this review. Beautiful.
3/2/14 4:25 PM
carolynw said...
A real 10+ Really creative use of the stripes. Thanks for sharing
3/2/14 3:42 PM
lyndle said...
*Love* how you've used the stripes on this. It has turned out looks great.
3/2/14 2:17 PM
sew2little said...
I love your change of direction on the stripes--with the added bonus of not needing to match the stripes! I wonder how this would look lengthened as a dress?
3/2/14 1:12 PM
ceedee said...
Well, it looks great; perhaps it's the drapey-ness (is that a word? lol) played a part in the different look. Thanks for the response; it's now on my wish list!
3/2/14 1:04 PM
STARG said...
Ceedee: to answer your question there was no streamlining at all. The sides are as the pattern comes out of the envelope. My fabric was very drapey though. Hope that answers your question!
3/2/14 12:48 PM
sacmabell said...
I like the mix of vertical and horizontal stripes. I bought this a few weeks ago, but have been nervous about the cross over.
3/2/14 12:18 PM
redside said...
Wonderful use of stripes!
3/2/14 10:36 AM
ceedee said...
You're shortage of fabric offered you a great design opportunity - adds more interest this way! Question: I prefer the front of your version - did you streamline the front from the waist down? Either way, a fun top!
3/2/14 4:51 AM
Karen R said...
Fabulous top , love it
3/2/14 1:53 AM
wildberrymom said...
Such an interesting pattern! You have a very nice tunic and it looks great on you.
3/2/14 1:37 AM
Baja Susana said...
I love it, and you cleverly juxtaposed the stripes to add interest.
3/1/14 11:58 PM
Pj3g said...
Looks wonderful! I love it!
3/1/14 11:31 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, how adorable! I love your creativity with the fabric!
3/1/14 10:43 PM
mary in FL said...
I like how you mixed up the stripes for the collar!
3/1/14 8:38 PM
EleanorSews said...
The need to use stripes in different directions was a nice consequence of using pieces. Creates a fun look.
3/1/14 7:19 PM
frame said...
I like it.
3/1/14 7:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

More Info