SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5601 (misses and petite dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 201 times 
Reviewed by:threadheap
photo

 
 
About threadheapstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/11/14
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/14 3:47 AM
Last Updated:3/2/14 3:49 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5601 by threadheap

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5601
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description:
Close fitting dress with back opening detail.

Pattern Sizing:
6-12. I cut a 10 in the bust and waist, grading to a 12 in the hips. I made view A.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. It's a pretty basic dress - a few darts. The directions were pretty clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love how fun and elegant the dress is at the same time. I get a lot of compliments on it -- I love that the bold fabric does well with the simple outline of the dress. Make sure you try on the dress and place the button where you need it to keep the top of the dress closed! I just did this willy-nilly, which was clearly silly, and had to add an extra snap to keep things closed. It all worked out in the end and I still adores this dress.

Fabric Used:
Rayon challis.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I used a slightly smaller seam allowance along my hips to accommodate their rather large size. Nothing else.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I probably won't sew this again, but only because my need for fancy dresses is very limited. I would definitely recommend it to others though -- I love it.

Conclusion:
It's a great dress that uses up very little fabric (a bit over a yard for me) and takes relatively little time. Lots of bang for your buck!

More information and pictures on my blog at threadheap.com

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Lovely! Nice when a pattern takes so little fabric:)
3/2/14 7:33 AM
dinagideon said...
Okay you have me at "around a yard" and the lace hem you show at your blog. I love being frugal with fabric and lace hems! :) It looks amazing on you, what a great shape and colors!
3/2/14 9:56 AM
kajero said...
Gorgeous -- you, the style, and the fabric. What else can I say?
3/2/14 1:05 PM
SewLibra said...
What a bright and pretty dress! Love the print and the fit is spot on.
3/3/14 0:33 AM
wildberrymom said...
This dress is gorgeous any way you look at it and you wear it beautifully. I've looked pretty carefully and I don't see the "big hips" thing at all--just a gorgeous feminine shape.
3/3/14 1:39 AM
MamaSewing said...
Great dress, I love the fabric.
3/3/14 10:04 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Great fit, great fabric, great dress!
3/3/14 10:46 AM
debbieB said...
Cute dress!
3/11/14 8:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2010-11

photo
by: angeleyes8...

Review
McCall's 8358

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now