SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 426 (Shirred Top & Princess Wrap)

59 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 405 times 
Reviewed by:Sharonspils
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharonspilsstarstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 5/16/07
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/14 3:16 AM
Last Updated:3/11/14 7:45 AM
Project Photo:Christine Jonson: 426 by Sharonspils

Christine Jonson: 426 by Sharonspils  
Pattern Photo:Christine Jonson 426
Christine Jonson Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Why did you choose this Pattern Company?
I really like the look of the design of this top from Christine Jonson after seeing it reviewed here on PR.

How did you obtain this pattern? (bricks and mortar store, online, downloaded)
I purchased this pattern directly for Christine Jonson's website and had it posted to me in Australia.

Did the pattern meet up with your expectations i.e. if a PDF was it easy to print. In general was the fit as described, was the pattern a success, company easy to work with?
This is a tissue pattern and the fit is definitely as per the description. I do count this pattern as a success and easy to work with, which I explain in detail below.

Was sewing this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? If so, why?
No more difficult than any of the Big 4 and a lot better than any BWOF pattern.

Would you buy another pattern from this company? Why or why not.
I already have, Travel Trio One and plan on making it up one of these days.

Would you recommend this Pattern Company?
Yes I would, the service direct from Christine Jonson was perfect, the pattern was easy to understand and sew.

Now for the pattern review:

Pattern Description: Shirred Top: Self-lined, tight-fitting top with bateau neckline and shirred bodice with sleeve variations. Also, Princess Wrap Top: Close-fitting, pullover, princess seam, wrap top with gathered waistline detail and sleeve variations.

I made the Shirred Top.

Pattern Sizing: XS to XL. I cut out a size SM.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did but mine has short sleeves.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I found the instructions very easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I think it is a very flattering style.

Fabric Used: A gorgeous coral knit my DS gave to me a few Christmas's ago.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

* shortened the lower bodice by 4cm
* shortened the sleeve by 2cm
* made the upper front and upper back pattern pieces so they could be cut out flat x 2, instead of being on the fold x 4, this let me have my fabric layout with a lot less wastage.

As a lot of reviewers have said this is a very close fitting top, so I basted the upper front and upper back together with the recommended 1.5cm seams and tried it on. It was a bit too snug for me, so I sewed this together with 6mm seam allowances essentially changing the size to a MD.

I used my Coverstitch to stitch the neckline.

The pattern went together very well until I came to the sleeve, they were very tight, so I adjusted my sleeve for a Full Arm Adjustment (Fit For Real People, page 169) of 1.5cm and feel they are a lot better.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, and even though I highly recommend the pattern, you do need to be aware of the close fit and even with the worksheet that is provided with the pattern (which I followed) my top is still a bit too tight, but then maybe a small FBA would fix that.

Conclusion: It is a very flattering top and I can see a few more in my wardrobe.

Front view

Side ruching

Back view
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
What a gorgeous colour on you! And I am rather envious of the lovely neckline finish you have achieved with your coverstitch machine. Your sewing is beautiful as usual!
3/8/14 4:09 AM
Quickie said...
This is a flattering style on you. The colour suits your hair beautifully
3/8/14 4:24 AM
BeaJay said...
Great top and goes beautifully with the brown skirt.
3/8/14 5:15 PM
Diane333 said...
You look great...like you should be a the front of a pattern.
3/9/14 9:57 AM
ASiverson said...
Love this top on you, color and style! I have this pattern and also want to make it up in a knit for Spring (it cannot be far off now!). Great work and TFS!
3/9/14 10:09 AM
Patti B said...
Lovely top. I have sewn the princess wrap in this pattern at least 4 times but have shied away from this one because of the snug fit. I can see that I should gather my courage and forge ahead.
3/9/14 10:13 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Great colour, Sharon...and the ruching is very flattering.
3/9/14 10:47 PM
chenille said...
Looks very RTW - great color on you as well and I agree - you should be the model for this pattern!
3/11/14 3:06 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful top! The neckline finish looks wonderful- as much as I love boat necks the corners are always tricky. This overlap method looks so professional. Thanks for reviewing.
3/11/14 11:13 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top!
3/13/14 1:15 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful work - you are the cover stitch pro! The colour is very flattering
3/13/14 7:09 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely top. And I agreewith the other commenters, you wear that color very well. Congratulations.
3/19/14 7:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
McCall's 6638

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review