SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6927 (Misses'/Women's Tops and Tunics)

1 more reviews
Viewed 512 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/14 6:24 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6927 by MrsCharisma

McCall's: 6927 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6927
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Voile  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Loose-fitting, pullover tops and tunics have bias neck facings, bust darts, back slit, button/thread loop, and narrow hem. A and B: bias armhole facings. C: underlined. D: shaped hemline, wrong side shows. B, E and F: side slits. Note: separate pattern pieces are included for cup sizes Misses'- A/B, C, D

Pattern Sizing:

8-16 with cup sizing. I cut a 14D

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

I used the view with the "tail" but made it sleeveless.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. I hadn't done side vents before and it was not intimidating at all. I did not do the thread chain for closure I used black elastic cord

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Nothing to dislike. I'm curious as to how the sleeve will fit though. It looks like it's pulling on the models.

I am confused as to why McCalls only included fabric requirements for 45". This voile was 54" and I had one yard of it.

Fabric Used:

Cotton voile from FabricMart. Ordered last summer sometime...


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

1/2" narrow shoulder adjustment. 3/4" swayback adjustment.

I wasn't going to do the vents but the size 14 has a 43" hip and mine are 44". Oops. Should've graded to a 16 there. The vents were an afterthought to "fix" this.

Used the view with the longer back but no sleeves.

Used white bias binding.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Omg yes! I will have several tees, tanks and tunics from this pattern for the summer. It went together very well and in about 2 hours or so.

Conclusion:

L. O. V. E. I cannot wait for warmth!!! It's a single degree in Minneapolis today (and I had to dig out wrinkled shorts!).
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Adaire said...
Pretty! You are definitely an optimist with the weather. Have you made the Grainline Scout T and how would you compare it. I love your reviews as we have nearly the same measurements.
3/2/14 7:53 PM
Adaire said...
Except you live in MN and I live in FL, so we have different needs.
3/2/14 7:54 PM
trudiz said...
I LOVE your top. It is much more attractive than McCall's prototype. Great choice of fabric, too. Let's hope spring comes soon!
3/2/14 7:55 PM
MrsCharisma said...
I have not made the scout tee Adaire! Good to know we are measurement "twins" :) Thanks ladies! I am over optimistic. We have a snow storm coming and I reminded myself while in the sewing room today, that we got snow last year right before Mother's Day (MAY!!)
3/2/14 8:02 PM
Sew Good said...
Cute and how quickly it went together :) Nicely done!
3/2/14 8:29 PM
AndreaSews said...
Really cute top! Yours is so much prettier than the pattern's picture. Looks like a great fit, too.
3/2/14 10:18 PM
sewing for fun said...
Love your top - looks so fresh and summery! Sooo much better than pattern photo!
3/2/14 11:22 PM
ntpolite said...
Very Nice. can't believe its in the single digits and you are already sewing for summer.. too funny!
3/2/14 11:23 PM
Baja Susana said...
Pretty top, looks cool and crisp. I need to get cracking on summer sewing, it has been in the 80's and higher for weeks! You look cute!
3/3/14 0:33 AM
wildberrymom said...
What a great way to survive winter and get ready for summer!
3/3/14 1:46 AM
canei said...
That is very nice! Love the fabric.
3/3/14 9:44 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks All! I seriously went all summer with like 2 pair of shorts and a couple tanks and tees. I am going to be ready this summer!
3/3/14 10:43 AM
carolynw said...
Nice top and shorts - you;ll be ready for summer! But wonder - when will that be?
3/3/14 11:18 AM
carolynw said...
Nice top and shorts - you;ll be ready for summer! But wonder - when will that be?
3/3/14 11:21 AM
Rhoda K said...
Cute top! I'm hoping for summer for you soon ;-)
3/3/14 12:27 PM
JennyQNY said...
Cute top!
3/3/14 11:10 PM
HRigg said...
Great outfit.
3/4/14 3:51 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you !! Carolyn at this rate probably not until June!
3/4/14 9:58 AM
michellep74 said...
Yay! I'm so glad to see this made up and that it looks great!
3/4/14 12:53 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty
3/4/14 2:07 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks!! Every time I walk past it, I smile. C'mon spring!
3/5/14 11:55 AM
TJSEWS said...
Love your top! Spring, where are you!
3/5/14 10:08 PM
Sheenagh said...
So pretty! :)
3/10/14 7:30 PM
Soday said...
I like the print. I also like how the hem is rounded in the back. This top will be perfect for spring and summer :)
3/13/14 3:31 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks you!!
3/15/14 9:45 AM
strongnow said...
Your review just hit the spot with me. You are so right! The sleeves did not work for me. Too binding. I removed the sleeves and the top fit beautifully. I am not sure how to fix this, but I am working on it. As for the weather...this winter just goes on and on and on, but sewing lovely summer things is a great antidote.
3/29/14 10:21 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I KNEW those sleeves were wrong strongnow! You can look at them in the envelope and tell. I tried making the sleeved version for my daughter and she complained about the sleeves (she also needed a broad back adjustment). I wonder if the armscye needs to be scooped/lowered...
3/30/14 7:29 AM
Marilyn N. said...
I hope you are getting lots of use out of your top this summer. It's good to know about the sleeves - because that is the version that I wanted to make. Thanks!
7/16/14 1:01 PM
Danmar said...
Looks like a great alternative to the Grainline scout which does not have bust darts. That's one difference. Love these easy to make tops !
8/13/14 9:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-117

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
McCall's 5273

photo
by: lovenicky

Review