SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Bells and Whistles (Bells and Whistles Shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 151 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/14 3:38 PM
Project Photo:Sewing Workshop: Bells and Whistles by STARG

Sewing Workshop: Bells and Whistles by STARG  Sewing Workshop: Bells and Whistles by STARG  
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Semi-fitted shirt has collar and collar band, curved front band closure, left shoulder overlay and back darts. Below-elbow, set-in sleeves have split band and cuff. Floating front band provides buttoning options. Curved shirttail hem.

Pattern Sizing:
XS (6) - XXL (22)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
This blouse pattern was featured on the cover of Threads Magazine - August/September 2011 issue and that was the inspiration behind my version. Mine resembled the Threads cover more than the pattern envelope photo - but that's a minor detail.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Instructions were very thorough. With all of the different fabrics I used, cutting this baby out was a headscratcher. I first made a line drawing of which fabrics I wanted to use there and then referred to that constantly during the cutting out and construction process.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the unique style of the shirt. I tend to play with the front floating flap when it is not buttoned up though.

Dislikes:
- The back is too large. The front fits just fine, but why they designed so much room in the back I don't know. The two fitting darts in the back don't really help either. When I make this again, I will alter the pattern back to get rid of the extra fabric. I made a size Small and there is about 6 inches of ease around the waist/hip area.

Fabric Used:
The main blue is a wonderful Italian cotton I picked up at the Robert Talbott outlet in Carmel Valley, CA. The two other fabrics are quilting cottons.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None - other than following the gleaning the fabric placement ideas from the Threads article.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes I would sew it again. Probably in a red stripe next time. Would absolutely recommend this to others.

Conclusion:
If you are looking for something different, this pattern is for you. There are actually two different blouse patterns in the envelope so you get two for the price of one! More views on my blog.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
Love the sleeves on this shirt! Very nice!
3/3/14 6:46 PM
Dilliander said...
Great blouse! This is one of my most favourite patterns, if fact I have the fabric ready to go for a second version... lovely to see yours.
3/3/14 8:02 PM
cmcarr said...
Your shirt is pretty. I have made this shirt twice. I also made the Whistles but I don't like it as much as Bells. Whistles reminds me of a Chefs jacket. Too much fabric in my opinion.
3/4/14 0:52 AM
HRigg said...
Yes! A real fun shirt.
3/4/14 3:39 AM
nothy lane said...
Really nice.
3/4/14 7:22 AM
Molliefran said...
Love your whimsical use of fabric! I usually make a muslin because of the larger amount of ease. Being 5'3" , it makes a difference.
3/4/14 10:09 AM
lamstu said...
How very fun with the different fabrics that all play together so nicely!
3/5/14 7:03 AM
TJSEWS said...
Love how you combined the fabrics!
3/5/14 10:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now