SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8950 (Misses' Tunic)

5 more reviews
Viewed 316 times 
Reviewed by:lah119
photo

 
 
About lah119
CA USA
Member since: 2/23/13
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/14 5:36 PM
Last Updated:3/3/14 5:39 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8950 by lah119

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8950
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by lah119

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, pullover tunic has yokes, side slits and stitched hems. Back is longer than front, wrong side shows. Front, back and sleeves

Pattern Sizing: 6-14. I cut a 10 but ended up taking it in quite a bit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but I didn't really use them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It's quick and easy. Its a nice alternative to a plain long-sleeved tee. I dislike the finish on the neckline - I don't like turned under necklines on knits. I dislike being told to easestitch and gather my sleeve on a knit shirt. Its not hard to make a sleeve head that will fit in a knit top using just the stretch to ease it in. Vogue makes knits so much more complicated than they need to be.

Fabric Used: A rayon-lycra knit from Gorgeous Fabrics.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I took 3" off of the pattern before I even cut the fabric and another 3" off before I hemmed it. It's very long. I also sewed the side seams with a 1" seam allowance - I cut a 10 based on my measurements but ended up sewing a 6, and there is still plenty of wearing ease. I added a neck band to finish the neckline.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I'll sew it again. I would recommend it, but be prepared to play with the sizing depending on your fitting preferences, and height!

Conclusion: This pattern was fine, I knew I would make alterations because I really didn't want a 'tunic', and I know Vogue's sizing is wonky. But it was a quick sew and I'm happy with the result. More at
http://stitchininmykitchen.blogspot.com/2014/03/vogue-8950-top.html

Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CurlyCrafter said...
Great top! I love the green print with the black!
3/3/14 6:12 PM
meadowclark said...
Love the fabric combination!
3/3/14 6:35 PM
madbadger said...
Very nice - love your fabric choices!
3/3/14 7:01 PM
LoriMinnesota said...
Really nice! I love the fabrics and the design.
3/3/14 8:31 PM
threaddy said...
Thank you for the sizing issues. I really appreciate that info. Plus your comment about making sewing knits harder than they need to be. maybe they think they are above easy so throw in curves just to make you think they are couture? (HA!) Really fun fabric choice.
3/3/14 10:47 PM
HRigg said...
Nice shape and great fabric.
3/4/14 3:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with getting this to fit and I like the fabric combo.
3/4/14 5:31 AM
Mufffet said...
Nifty top! Excellent job!
3/4/14 10:41 AM
jmosew said...
Late on seeing this but thanks for the detailed review. I've been looking for a yoke t-shit pattern and this seems like it will be a good one to try. Cute shirt!
3/6/14 7:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now