SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1609 (Misses Dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 466 times 
Reviewed by:kathlabath
photo

 
 
About kathlabathstar
Member since: 5/19/11
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/14 7:04 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1609 by kathlabath

Simplicity: 1609 by kathlabath  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1609
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Stretch Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Mod shift dress reproduction pattern

Pattern Sizing:
I cut out an 8 (for size reference I'm 25 inch waist and 32 in bust and hips) The fit seemed pretty true to size to me. Not sure why but I'm not completely satisfied with the fit but it's OK.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? It wasn't as fitted as the pattern envelope image, but otherwise it was the same

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I don't usually follow pattern instructions, I just do things my own way, so I can't say how good they were.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love the A-line and I love the views with the collar and bow details. I will have to make a version using those too!

Fabric Used: Stretch Sateen

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I shortened it, but that's the only change I made.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don't think I will be able to help myself.

Conclusion: If you like 60s style and MOD looks, this is the pattern for you, it's a quick one to whip up!

More project images and details on my blog!
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sixtiesgirl said...
I love what you did with the stripes!
3/4/14 7:28 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Great chevron effect, a nice surprise to find the back vertically striped! You're on a mod roll!
3/4/14 7:37 AM
canei said...
Cute!!!
3/4/14 7:50 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love it!
3/4/14 7:51 AM
kathlabath said...
Thanks ladies! So glad you like the stripes and the Mod effect
3/4/14 7:55 AM
Joan Morley said...
Adorable dress!
3/4/14 8:09 AM
MrsCharisma said...
You've got an amazing summer wardrobe happening :) Cute dress, especially the chevrons!
3/4/14 9:56 AM
sewrose said...
Again, your photos are great. This is such a cute style on you.
3/4/14 10:18 AM
Ilonka said...
Love it! Great work with the stripes! I think the fit is perfect!
3/4/14 10:52 AM
tlc246 said...
Lovely dress. It looks like a great fit. Great job.
3/4/14 11:11 AM
ggf2005 said...
adorable
3/4/14 1:24 PM
slmstyle said...
Great job on this dress and matching up the chevron stripes!
3/4/14 2:31 PM
aaltje said...
I think it is great. The surprise indeed is a surprise, which makes it extra interesting. Great job!
3/4/14 2:38 PM
Danmar said...
Your stripes are amazing and you like a model. Great job!
3/4/14 6:45 PM
chrystalmckay said...
Those stripes look PERFECT! What an amazing job! Again - beautiful match between fabric and pattern! LOVE it!
3/4/14 7:30 PM
momsurfing said...
love it. i wore this style a lot back in the 60's. to answer your facing question from your blog, just make self bias binding instead.
3/4/14 8:02 PM
SewWil said...
Love your fabric placement!
3/4/14 10:40 PM
beanchor said...
Love this! Great looking dress. The chevron is wonderful.
3/5/14 0:13 AM
Karen R said...
Love this one too !
3/5/14 0:15 AM
SewLibra said...
Another cute dress! Just goes to show that you don't have to have a complicated pattern to make a stand-out garment.
3/5/14 1:30 AM
cocosloft said...
Sharp! great use of the stripes.
3/5/14 5:23 AM
kathlabath said...
Thank you so much ladies! I have never received so many lovely comments, so flattered you like it :D
3/5/14 7:53 AM
Dellia45 said...
Chevron and vertical stripes??Hmmm,, creatively abounds,,you look great and such an excellent job!!!
3/5/14 9:02 AM
ceedee said...
Another winner! (Just saw your b&w polka dot dress). You've definitely found your look - these patterns were made for you. Your fabric choices are fab!
3/5/14 12:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6362

photo
by: Gigi1168

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now