SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5946 (Children's/Girls' Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 76 times 
Reviewed by:the_caroler
photo

 
 
About the_carolerstar
United States
Member since: 8/8/06
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/14 9:04 PM
Last Updated:3/24/14 9:08 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5946 by the_caroler

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5946
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Toddler/Child's coat

Pattern Sizing: I cut a 5 and added a bit over an inch in length. There's still plenty of room for my tiny 7 year old. She is generally a 5 in Big4 with added length.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I used a red wool. It looks like I was inspired by the cover, though I wasn't since I love red for a coat. I didn't add any of the flair to my version.

Were the instructions easy to follow?The pattern is rated easy and the directions are straight forward. I wouldn't choose this as a very first project, but I would feel comfortable that anyone who can use a sewing machine could follow them and get an acceptable product.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the skirt portion which I think will help keep my daughter warm at the bus stop in mornings. It's quite generous and she loves its swishiness. Dislikes- the collar and the lack of facings. I equivocated for awhile about whether to go ahead with the lining as written or making facings instead and finally decided that based on bulk and in the interest of finishing the project in a timely manner than the lining would do. The pink lining is visible at the top of the front pieces, but not such that I'm upset over it. More troublesome is the collar. The only other coat I have ever made had this same style and it seems that the fabric needs to roll too many different ways and it can't. It's not bad for what it is, and helps keep the project easier, but I think I would have liked more of a roll than I've been able to achieve.

Fabric Used: Wool/acrylic blend from fabric.com and flannel backed satin from Jo-Ann. The satin is disappointingly thin and I will not be using it in the future.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I did add a pleat to the lining, though I'm not sure it was necessary.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I have the same pattern in the next larger size range and plan to make it again in the future. However, next time I will not line it to the edges and use facings instead. Also, looking at my daughter's old store bought coat, it has topstitching all the way around and I think I would have liked that effect with this one as well.

Conclusion: Cute and easy coat pattern that has good bones. More at my blog.

Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danmar said...
Pretty little coat and model!
3/24/14 11:09 PM
the_caroler said...
She's thrilled with it!
3/25/14 7:28 AM
Pamela R said...
The next coat, you might want to use Casha lining, it is a flannel backed satin lining fabric. Cute look.
3/25/14 9:11 AM
MamaSewing said...
Beautiful coat!
3/25/14 9:36 AM
Pj3g said...
I love red coats and yours looks wonderful! Your daughter is so cute in it too!
3/25/14 6:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

McCall's 6416

photo
by: elishaetc

Review
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now