SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6701 (Misses' Dresses)

Viewed 209 times 
Reviewed by:nightmaredoll
photo

 
 
About nightmaredoll
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/22/13
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/14 4:38 AM
Last Updated:3/5/14 4:51 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6701 by nightmaredoll

McCall's: 6701 by nightmaredoll  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6701
McCall's Pattern Info

More Info provided by nightmaredoll

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
I used view A. The pattern is a dress made out of panels.

Pattern Sizing:
Not too good, I'd recommend going a size down from what the pattern says. According to the pattern my bust size of 100cm corresponded to a size 16, however the dress was falling off me. I had to take both the waist and bust in.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yeah! It was pretty close actually! I wanted a more casual dress personally, so I chose a cotton, but using a satin or silk you could make a cocktail dress.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Sort of. I improvised on a few steps to ie: understitch and slipstitch instructions because I'm lazy, haha~

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I was really annoyed at the sizing. I usually make a mock-up of some poplin but I went ahead and made it thinking it would be okay. The pattern says it's close fitting, but as I said earlier I recommend a size down.

Fabric Used:
I used pure cotton lawn for the lining (it's super lightweight) and a children's cotton print for the main fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I brought the waist in from the side panels and middle back panels, and the bust brought in with fabric under the armpits.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I want to sew it again, it's super flattering, but I would buy the pattern in a 12~14 next time. I love it!

Conclusion:
Overall, probably easier for someone with experience and patience. I really love the pattern, I hope to make view C at some point!

Pictures
Sorry about my face in first pic, it was really bright out and I wasn't wearing makeup X___X


Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
N_Vogue said...
Super cute! The styling with the boots is uber cool.
3/5/14 6:15 AM
debbieB said...
Beautiful dress!
3/5/14 7:49 AM
squaredancer57 said...
Great dress
3/5/14 12:25 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Very cool, very original dress.
3/6/14 1:18 AM
cocosloft said...
So pretty! love your fabric.
3/6/14 5:45 AM
cstarks said...
Great fabric choice! I like yours better than the one on the envelope!
3/6/14 7:43 AM
Danmar said...
Very eye catching and stylish!
3/6/14 7:48 AM
SewLibra said...
I love your dress and it fits you perfectly! Love the black and white print, and with the boots, too. :-)
3/6/14 4:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

McCall's 2401

photo
by: Peggysclos...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 5533

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now