SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Tilly and the Buttons> 1003 (Coco Dress)

9 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/14 3:30 AM
Last Updated:3/11/14 9:57 AM
Project Photo:Tilly and the Buttons: 1003 by chenille

Tilly and the Buttons: 1003 by chenille  Tilly and the Buttons: 1003 by chenille  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by chenille

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Double Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
MTA: additional info for contest

Why did you choose this Pattern Company?
It takes an incredible amount of both skill and time to put together well documented tutorials. I have learned so much, basically for free, from generous Indie designers. Tilly's site is both informative and fun to browse. Trying out new patterns from designers like this is my small way of showing them my appreciation for all the shared knowledge and inspiration.
How did you obtain this pattern?
it is available as either download PDF or paper pattern. My version was PDF, but I wouldn't hesitate to try a paper copy.
Did the pattern meet up with your expectations- ie if a PDF was it easy to print. In general was the fit as described, was the pattern a success, company easy to work with?
Yes to all of these!
Was sewing this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? If so, why?
This was aimed at beginners and it was a very simple sew + there is a complete sew-a-long on site now - so difficulty isn't really an issue.
Would you buy another pattern from this company? Why or why not
Absolutely! I love her style, the pattern is well drafted, it is easy to blend sizes, and Tilly seems pretty accessible as far as replying to posts on her site.
Would you recommend this Pattern Company?
Absolutely! (starting to sound a little Rocky here :D)
I am drafting in my fit changes right now so I can get another dress or two done - actually I think it's going to be relatively easy by just dropping down a couple of sizes to get the fit right through the upper bodice.

Pattern Description:
Designed for low-stretch knit fabrics, this classic style features a boat neckline, choice of top or dress lengths, three quarter length or long sleeves, with side splits at the hips on the top version. Make it your own with optional sixties funnel roll neck, rolled cuffs and patch pockets.
Pattern Sizing:
1 - 8 - love this - no judgements about size!
I started with a 3 in the neck/shoulder and increased to size 4 from underarm to hem
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except mine is a color-blocked version
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, except for a little bit about where the shoulder stabilizer went, but that was easily explained(and with pictures) on the blog. I have the PDF version - the paper copy comes with a full color instruction booklet.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love that this is an awesome 60's style basic dress, only 4 pieces if you go for the slash boatneck version. This is nicely drafted, and there is lots of hand holding if you are new to sewing with knits. There is a tunic and dress version. I see lots of possibilities for this easy fit top/dress.
Fabric Used:
acrylic/lycra reversible double knit from JoAnn's. This pattern requires a stable knit fabric.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This was my test muslin. I shortened the waist by 1" and reduced the shoulders and part of the AH curve 1/4" - but that was done after the fabric was cut and I will incorporate those changes into the next draft.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Absolutely to both. I'm already planning at least 2 more dresses/tunics
Conclusion:
This is such a comfortable dress - way better than a pair of sweats for just hanging out, but ready to go out for coffee in a minute!

blog post
Flickr set
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
aaltje said...
What a great dress! I love the way you color blocked it, and it looks so well on you.
3/8/14 3:53 AM
Quickie said...
I love your dress. The choice of the two greys looks great on you. The belt s lvely
3/8/14 4:20 AM
Quickie said...
I love your dress. The choice of the two greys looks great on you. The belt s lvely
3/8/14 4:20 AM
Danmar said...
Nice dress. Your sewing is very nice. I have the same fabric, and it has a nice weight to it
3/8/14 7:54 AM
SewLibra said...
I love the color blocking and with the two-tone gray it makes a versatile dress with almost any accessory. Very nice!
3/9/14 1:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like how you color blocked this dress. Great job!
3/9/14 9:21 AM
degnancy said...
I love your version! You've really given it some va-va-voom with the belt and the color blocking.
3/9/14 10:46 AM
STARG said...
Great idea with the color blocking! Looks great.
3/9/14 12:31 PM
Levone said...
Nice dress!
3/11/14 1:54 PM
jenleeC said...
Great dress! I love that it can go from casual to dressy with the addition of a belt and necklace.
3/13/14 10:07 AM
JEF said...
Lovely
3/19/14 7:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 218360-1002

photo
by: QuikSew

Review