SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5605 (misses dress and belt Retro '56)

6 more reviews
Viewed 178 times 
Reviewed by:fourkid
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About fourkidstarstar
Member since: 8/30/08
Reviews written: 100
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 85
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/14 6:43 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5605 by fourkid

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5605
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
From the envelope: "Misses dress and belt Retro '56
Mid-calf dresses A, B, C have close-fitting, self-lined bodice with side front and back seams, flared skirt with side pockets, back pleats and zipper. A: below-elbow sleeves. A, B: bodice back extends into tie ends. B, C: short sleeves. C: bodice back extends into band with button and buttonhole. Purchased petticoat."

Pattern Sizing:
BB is 8-10-12-14
FF is 16-18-20-22
I made a 14 for my daughter.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Surprisingly, yes. There are 35 steps listed. I read them all carefully and highlighted the steps that applied to my view.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I found this a hard dress to sew. I have sewn items that were more complicated, but not what I would call hard. This was just plain hard. It is probably a reflection of my abilities - but having said that - it is a beautiful dress.

Steps 1 and 2 start you right off in deep. I almost quit right there. There are little (necessary) reinforcing squares for the bodice underarm seams. By the time you include the lining you have to do 8 of those nasty little things. I am not sure I ever did them correctly - in fact I know a couple were wrong - but they did get done - eventually.

It doesn't get any better on steps 3 and 4 where you have to do a difficult bodice panel. If you make it to step 10 it is a breeze from there on.

Fabric Used:
Quilting cotton. Somehow I messed up the yardage. I don't know how, as it is very clear on the pattern envelope - but because of the weird way the sleeves and back tie are all one piece it uses a lot of fabric and there isn't much room to finagle it around. All that to say, I didn't have enough yardage to make the bodice self-lining. And there was no more of that fabric to be found (I tried 3 different Jo-Ann's). Soooo, I found a matching solid blue-gray to complement the main print. It really only matters when you tie the bow. But the bow can be tied so only the main fabric shows, and the glimpses of the solid do not detract.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
1. Added 1/2" to the bodice length (standard for my daughter.)
2. Added 1" to the waist (also standard for a size 14 for my daughter.)
3. I made a 1" SA for the center back for the zipper
4. I raised the back by about 1 1/4" as it was too low for our tastes.
5. I made a tie belt (and a headband), but my daughter prefers a purchased belt - see photos below.
6. I did a hand picked zipper.
7. I moved the center front in by 1/2"

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I really hope I never have to sew it again, but I would do so if pressed.
I do recommend it - but be aware it is quite challenging (at least in my opinion.)

Conclusion:
It is a very pretty dress if you are up for the challenge.
Pictures:
Picture 1
Picture 2
Picture 3
Picture 4
Picture 5
Picture 6
Picture 7
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ElizabethK said...
Lovely dress! You can't tell from the pictures that you had such a hard time with the pattern! I love how she paired it with boots to get a totally different look!
3/13/14 6:55 PM
katlew03 said...
Great job, Patti. Your DD looks like she is really happy with the dress. Color looks great on her and so does the fit.
3/13/14 9:55 PM
LTC said...
You've done a lovely job. Cute dress with pretty fabric lucky daughter.
3/13/14 11:39 PM
Danmar said...
It is a special dress. The back bodice looks like a good fit, which I think would be hard to do. Congrats!
3/14/14 8:21 AM
MamaSewing said...
Great dress, I love the color!
3/14/14 9:08 AM
Margaret said...
I've come across a similar early 60s pattern with the fiddly reinforcement bits too. Seems like it was just a 'thing' at that time. Anyway, the dress looks great! I love the back detail!
4/14/14 3:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 3752

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now