SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1001 (Basic Pant)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1502 times 
Reviewed by:galadriel45
photo

 
 
About galadriel45starstar
Member since: 10/24/03
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/05 10:27 AM
Last Updated:6/11/05 10:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewwhat? said...
I bought this pattern just for the pocket instructions. So far I have made 4 test pockets - still can't get those clipped corners to look good. Can you give me any helpful hints on this? Also I ordered Textile Studio elastic from the Sewing Place. The pattern says this elastic stretches to twice its length. No way can I get it to stretch th is much. Thanks very much.
8/24/05 4:10 PM
jo37 said...
Great pants. I was thinking about buying the pattern and fabric. Is the fabric see thru and could you add a lining without much trouble?
6/13/05 6:08 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Well this just worked out great all around - the fit, the fabric, and you learned the best elastic waist treatment ever. As one of the flat butt club too, hmmm I may have to look into these. Glad for you!
6/13/05 12:30 PM
galadriel45 said...
I hope I can explain it clearly. You stitch the first half of the pocket onto the front pants, starting at notched points about 1 1/2" down from the top of the pocket and finishing about 1 1/2" before the pocket ends. Cut the seams to each stitching point. You press the pocket back and top stitch it. You keep the raw edges out away from the pocket. Next you serge the second half of the pocket to the first pocket's outside edge. Next you sew the back to the front at that side seams, stitching the raw edges, and keeping the pocket edges free (easily done.). Finally, you edge stitch the entire seam on the back piece. The pocket lays very nicely. BTW, the top of the pocket is caught up in the waistband during that application.
6/12/05 4:38 PM
TERRI said...
can you explain how they told you to do the pocket thanks great looking pants by the way
6/12/05 10:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad you had good results. I keep thinking about buying this pattern. Helpful review.
6/12/05 8:50 AM
tigger said...
Love the pants - I love this style and yours look very well tailored.
6/12/05 2:59 AM
Teri said...
Very nice looking pants and your fabric sounds wonderful. I think I will have to check out the web page.
6/11/05 9:19 PM
bheath said...
Great job. Very comfy looking!
6/11/05 2:38 PM
galadriel45 said...
You serge the waistband to the inside edge of the pants, stretching as you go. Then you turn the fabric to the inside, and straight stitch 3 rows of stitching (again stretching as you go). one at the bottom edge, the middle and the top edge. Very RTW.
6/11/05 12:11 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
These look great. I was wondering what you meant by the "elastic waistband attachment". Could you give a little more info on that? Thanks
6/11/05 11:30 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- I love the pants. They look wonderful on you & the pocket looks so neat! This pattern definitely goes into my wishlist.
6/11/05 10:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now