Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2012-03 (Timeless and Cozy)

1 more reviews
Viewed 316 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstarstar
CO United States
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews: 130 (patterns: 126)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 28 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/14 4:40 PM
Last Updated:4/6/15 4:18 PM
Project Photo:Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2012-03 by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Fabric:Cotton-Poly Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Ottobre labels this as a tunic, but as is it lands at my knees, making it more dress length. I shortened it so that all total with the hem bands I added it hits me mid-thigh. I'm pretty sure mid-thigh is what Ottobre is going for here. Oh, you lovely tall Finns.

Pattern Sizing:34-52

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love how simple it is. It makes dressing in the morning easy as you can throw it on under anything, add a pair of tights or leggings, maybe a necklace and you're good to go.

Nothing to dislike.
Fabric Used:
Cotton/poly ivory jacquard knit plus some nylon tricot for lining
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Because my knit was so so white, I wanted to add some contrast which I did in the way of a hem band and cuffs in a peach pink rib knit. I had to bring the neck side of the shoulder in a little bit too to ensure bra strap coverage. The hem band took the place of the elastic.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?I love this style for cooler weather. It's fun and hip and easy!

Conclusion: Another Ottobre winner.
more on my blog.
Elizabeth Made This: Ivory Jacquard knit long tunic
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
makeityours said... (4/6/15 10:25 PM) Reply
Really cute style on you!
Harriet29 said... (4/6/15 4:22 PM) Reply
This is adorable on you!! Love it!
MNBarb said... (8/17/14 8:12 AM) Reply
This is such a cute dress on you. I've bookmarked it for winter. The soft colors are really "you".
ASiverson said... (3/17/14 10:58 AM) Reply
So comfy and cute! Love how you styled it with the cuffs and hem in a different color, and the tights and boots. Terrific!
sacmabell said... (3/15/14 5:20 PM) Reply
I just discovered Ottobre and you are making me glad I subscribed! This is great. Thanks for the heads up about the length.
becca a said... (3/15/14 10:09 AM) Reply
This is a really pretty tunic. I love your fabrics together.
blue mooney said... (3/15/14 8:18 AM) Reply
Very cute! Ottobre does seem to run long. I'm tall and always have to shorten Otto tops. Every other pattern company, I have to lengthen.
Sewiing Sue said... (3/14/14 9:21 PM) Reply
This is darling. I like the idea of lining knits. I have never done that.
lauraborealis said... (3/14/14 4:54 PM) Reply
So, so cute and inspiring! I ignored this in my issue, I think because I couldn't overlook the gathered hem.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

StyleArc Demi Drape Top

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Pattern Details