Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1846 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/05 3:23 PM
Last Updated:6/11/05 3:56 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Wow! Beautiful shirt/jacket & tank combo! I have a ton of slinky & haven't really done much with it except for a couple of UFO's lurking in dark corners. This really is a nice job Thanks for the review!
6/11/05 4:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very attractive "twinset". It looks just perfect for a trip. I look forward to your updated review when you figure out the placket.
6/11/05 4:08 PM
Clev said...
All of that work is outstanding. Very helpful review!!!
6/11/05 4:16 PM
SuzanM said...
I've been eyeing this pattern but read somewhere on Sewing World about the placket problem. I'll be waiting for your update. Love your version in slinky. Thanks for the great review!
6/11/05 5:08 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pretty, pretty, pretty. Teal acetate slinky at Stone Mountina, eh? (yummy!) Did you use any interfacing in the mandarian collar?
6/11/05 5:47 PM
Liane M said...
I'm getting ready to make this up in a woven fabric. I was wondering if the placket was going to work out. The instructions are a little iffy. I too have a thing for slinky. I didn't even think of making it up in slinky. This pattern looks like it will be a workhorse once the placket is perfected. I think I will make the collar a little shorter when I make this. I do not have a long graceful neck and am worried about the collar being to tall. Thanks for the timely review.
6/11/05 6:19 PM
Mini said...
Slinky is a good idea for this pattern. According to Marsha Day of TS, the jacket was based on the same block as the Basic Top-meaning not much ease when made in woven fabrics. As for the placket, it just isn't a good method. I did try it with my muslin to see if it would work, but it was harder than the usual method and not worth doing.
6/11/05 7:32 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks, everyone, although the collar/placket application can be improved, I like this pattern very much and look forward to making it again. MaryBeth, I did interface the collar, and it is slightly bulky as a result. Again, something to be improved on the next go-round.
6/11/05 11:28 PM
tigger said...
Love the shirt - and I've just ordered the pattern for the tank top! Looks great as usual!
6/12/05 2:58 AM
AnneM said...
That looks great in your fabric. Thanks for the placket problem notice.
6/12/05 8:50 AM
CSY said...
I want one too! That looks so good and so wearable. Always love seeing your reviews. Thanx.
6/12/05 9:49 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful colors and nice review. Have fun on your vacation. I'll consider slinky for road trips. Thanks!
6/12/05 10:26 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I have made this three times, a basic soft white cotton/linen, a dupioni silk, and in a cotton/poly crisp kind of blend. The cotton/poly blend I made w/o sleeves and added small patch pockets on the chest. I guess I should post a review! The placket went well with my fabrics, however I was really much more careful than my usual in cutting and marking, and did directional stay stitching and careful pressing along the way so nothing stretched out of shape. The top of the placket is actually several layers folded together, and open, but I slip stitched and/or top stiched closed. It is a fun little top to make and wear. In the stiffer dupioni I think I would have liked it longer with perhaps more side seam shaping as it is a bit boxy. Love your beautiful twin set by the way and have a great trip!
6/13/05 8:15 PM
patsijean said...
Ooooh. Very nice, very pretty.
7/21/06 1:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5965
photo
Review by MrsCharism... on 10/30/13
Read Review

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 5/21/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Everyday Baskets
Everyday Baskets

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1651 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us