SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1213 (Mandarin Shirt Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1848 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/05 3:23 PM
Last Updated:6/11/05 3:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
patsijean said...
Ooooh. Very nice, very pretty.
7/21/06 1:22 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
I have made this three times, a basic soft white cotton/linen, a dupioni silk, and in a cotton/poly crisp kind of blend. The cotton/poly blend I made w/o sleeves and added small patch pockets on the chest. I guess I should post a review! The placket went well with my fabrics, however I was really much more careful than my usual in cutting and marking, and did directional stay stitching and careful pressing along the way so nothing stretched out of shape. The top of the placket is actually several layers folded together, and open, but I slip stitched and/or top stiched closed. It is a fun little top to make and wear. In the stiffer dupioni I think I would have liked it longer with perhaps more side seam shaping as it is a bit boxy. Love your beautiful twin set by the way and have a great trip!
6/13/05 8:15 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful colors and nice review. Have fun on your vacation. I'll consider slinky for road trips. Thanks!
6/12/05 10:26 AM
CSY said...
I want one too! That looks so good and so wearable. Always love seeing your reviews. Thanx.
6/12/05 9:49 AM
AnneM said...
That looks great in your fabric. Thanks for the placket problem notice.
6/12/05 8:50 AM
tigger said...
Love the shirt - and I've just ordered the pattern for the tank top! Looks great as usual!
6/12/05 2:58 AM
Diane E said...
Thanks, everyone, although the collar/placket application can be improved, I like this pattern very much and look forward to making it again. MaryBeth, I did interface the collar, and it is slightly bulky as a result. Again, something to be improved on the next go-round.
6/11/05 11:28 PM
Mini said...
Slinky is a good idea for this pattern. According to Marsha Day of TS, the jacket was based on the same block as the Basic Top-meaning not much ease when made in woven fabrics. As for the placket, it just isn't a good method. I did try it with my muslin to see if it would work, but it was harder than the usual method and not worth doing.
6/11/05 7:32 PM
Liane M said...
I'm getting ready to make this up in a woven fabric. I was wondering if the placket was going to work out. The instructions are a little iffy. I too have a thing for slinky. I didn't even think of making it up in slinky. This pattern looks like it will be a workhorse once the placket is perfected. I think I will make the collar a little shorter when I make this. I do not have a long graceful neck and am worried about the collar being to tall. Thanks for the timely review.
6/11/05 6:19 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pretty, pretty, pretty. Teal acetate slinky at Stone Mountina, eh? (yummy!) Did you use any interfacing in the mandarian collar?
6/11/05 5:47 PM
SuzanM said...
I've been eyeing this pattern but read somewhere on Sewing World about the placket problem. I'll be waiting for your update. Love your version in slinky. Thanks for the great review!
6/11/05 5:08 PM
Clev said...
All of that work is outstanding. Very helpful review!!!
6/11/05 4:16 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very attractive "twinset". It looks just perfect for a trip. I look forward to your updated review when you figure out the placket.
6/11/05 4:08 PM
PVA said...
Wow! Beautiful shirt/jacket & tank combo! I have a ton of slinky & haven't really done much with it except for a couple of UFO's lurking in dark corners. This really is a nice job Thanks for the review!
6/11/05 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

More Info
Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 1

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review