SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Sewn Square One> 1006 (Go Anywhere Dress)

8 more reviews
Review submitted in New to Me Pattern Company Contest
Viewed 327 times 
Reviewed by:Leu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leustar
NY USA
Member since: 1/21/10
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/14/14 11:20 PM
Last Updated:3/15/14 10:00 PM
Project Photo:Sewn Square One: 1006 by Leu

Sewn Square One: 1006 by Leu  Sewn Square One: 1006 by Leu  
Pattern Photo:Sewn Square One 1006
Sewn Square One Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Fabric:Pique  [See other projects in this fabric]
1.) Why did you choose this pattern?
I found this dress off the A Good Wardrobe's blog page that lists Independent Pattern Companies. I have tried to limit my pattern purchaces to independent companies because I find the pieces are more current and require fewer adjustments for a good fit. I liked the princess seams and the pockets instantly. It seemed like a dress that could be made over and over again with different little touches that would make each one something new.

2.) How did I purchase this pattern? Real printed out pattern that came in the mail (all sizes included). Even though it had to travel across the country, it arrived in a few days!

3.) Did the pattern meet my expectations? Yes! I had to send an email about paypal and got a response right away, along with encouragement for the contest!

4.) Was this pattern more or less difficult than other pattern companies? The instructions covered every single question you might ask and the notches all lined up perfectly! The pattern lay-out is a page and half long because they cover every possible combination you miight make: long sleeves, no pocket. Short sleeves with pocket, etc. It was refreshing and easy to work with this pattern company.

5.) Would you buy another pattern from this company? Yes! I tried to make a coat from another independent company (that shall not be named) and I had a lot of problems. I never finished it But Sewn Square One has a jacket pattern, The Upline Jacket that I intend to make next fall.

6.) Would you recommend this pattern company? Yes!


Pattern Description:
From the website:
You can truly "go anywhere" in this dress. Casual chic or dressy classic, choose among t-shirt, tunic, or dress lengths; sleeveless, short or long sleeves. The pattern cover shows Gina in a short sleeve cotton version ready to go to work or lunch with the girls. A tunic length black knit top can be the lynchpin of your current wardrobe.


Pattern Sizing: I cut a M (10 - 12) based on other reviews here on PR, the hip range (37 - 39") and using a high bust measurement for bust (36").

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!
Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes! These are great for a beginner. Very complete and include items like pre-wash, ironing, clipping seams allowances for creating smooth curved seams.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Likes: Princess seams are so flattering and pockets are so handy! Pattern for knits or wovens. Dislikes: None!

Fabric Used: Knit pique from Fabric.com, about $6 a yard.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I made a muslin first, a summer version with short sleeves and pockets. You can see it here. It will be a nice cool dress for the hot days of summer, but I wanted to fix the fit of the top. I have a full bust but a hollow above-the-bust area with forward shoulders so the princess seams fit right at the apex but above that, too much fabric! See it here. So in addition to a sloping and forward shoulder, I also had to take a careful amount out of the seam to keep the integrity of the princess seam lines.
I changed the neck facing to a binding to break up the marble print a little.
Used an invisible zip in the back and skipped the pockets for a cleaner look. Back picture.

I added some embellishments to the neckline to add a little interest. Neck embellishments here.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Oh, yes! Eventually I will try a woven version but I see a few of these--maybe some color blocking--in the future.

Conclusion: I voted for the New To Me Pattern Company contest last year and I originally planned on making a StyleArc pattern but I'm really happy I picked this pattern instead. I came together easily and I have a contest entry and something to wear now!
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LTC said...
Lovely dress and nice touches as part of your adjustments.
3/15/14 2:27 AM
Quickie said...
I think you did a good job with this pattern
3/15/14 2:38 AM
jenleeC said...
You have nailed the fit on your second version! The neck binding and your embellishments give your dress a very RTW feel.
3/15/14 3:08 AM
Muggiesew said...
I've just made one of these and you're right about the princess seams being easy to adjust. I like the way they come off the shoulder seam not the arm hole. Your version is great. I bet you get a lot of compliments in it. Well done!
3/15/14 3:24 AM
ColorFiberTexture said...
I picked the same dress for the new to me pattern contest! Both versions of your dress look great! Thanks for sharing the detail about the hollow above the bust - I have that too and now have a solution as to how to fix!
3/15/14 9:10 AM
becca a said...
Great dress! Your fit adjustments have made the marble dress fit perfectly.
3/15/14 10:03 AM
cboots said...
Looks great! I had not heard of this one and will check it out.
3/15/14 12:11 PM
Changma said...
Wow,Leu, it looks fabulous! The fit is great.
3/15/14 7:22 PM
wendyrb said...
Great on this one, especially your design details for the neck dec and finish. Now, like the pattern title, you're Good to Go Anywhere with your next variations!
3/16/14 1:48 PM
TJSEWS said...
Your dress fits you beautifully! I have the same issue with the upper chest area. You did a great job adjusting for it. And I love your neck embellishments.
3/16/14 5:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Izybel18

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now