SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1609 (Misses Dress)

16 more reviews
Viewed 318 times 
Reviewed by:Sixtiesgirl
photo

 
 
About Sixtiesgirl
NM
Member since: 9/29/12
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/14 10:20 AM
Last Updated:3/16/14 10:27 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1609 by Sixtiesgirl

Simplicity: 1609 by Sixtiesgirl  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1609
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Duck  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Sleeveless A-line dress with neckline variations. Only 4 pattern pieces.

Pattern Sizing: 6-14 in one envelope

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes. Would have been good if I had followed them but I branched out on my own and installed the zipper before sewing the facing. Then I had to do some tricky shoulder maneuvers to get the facing into the dress since it is an all-in-one facing.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the simple lines and the 60's styling.

Fabric Used:
Cotton duck awning stripe. This is a home decorator fabric so thicker and stiffer than regular cotton. It is designed for use in valances or drapes.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I borrowed the idea of chevron stripes from another pattern reviewer, Kathlabath. To create the chevron effect, I cut the dress on the bias. There are only two main dress pieces so this was easy to do but does require a careful pattern layout to match the stripes. I also had to adjust for my premature zipper installation.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? This is the second time I have made this pattern. Depending on the fabric, it can have a whole different look.

Conclusion: I hope it is ok to borrow an idea from a fellow Pattern Reviewer. I loved the way Kathlabath capitalized on the center seam in this pattern to create the chevron. I think I can see why she didn't use the chevron in the back. It takes more fabric to lay the dress out on the bias. Stripes are prevalent in ready-to-wear this season so I am inspired to experiment with them more!


Sewing Sixties
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Love the chevron, beautiful colors!
3/16/14 10:28 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Great matching on the print! Love the dress it's so pretty and springy!
3/16/14 10:51 AM
Sew Good said...
I love this dress! Great fabric selection
3/16/14 12:02 PM
beanchor said...
This is really cute! You got the stripes lined up great!
3/16/14 2:58 PM
Baja Susana said...
fresh, crisp with some punch from the chevron effect. Borrowing ideas is what PR is all about!
3/16/14 4:18 PM
JuneHawk said...
Love it! I love the chevrons.
3/16/14 6:50 PM
prttynpnk said...
Great version_ you've really made it unique!
3/16/14 7:27 PM
SassySan said...
I just love this! I especially love the colors. Great Job matching up those stripes.
3/16/14 7:39 PM
Danmar said...
Beautiful sewing!
3/17/14 7:17 AM
Re Becca said...
Very cute! I adore the stripes, you will get lots of compliments on this!
3/17/14 8:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Other Ruby Slip

photo
by: Steph A

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now