SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> 218 (Jacket Express)

12 more reviews
Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:EmeraldErin66
photo

 
 
About EmeraldErin66star
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/23/11
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/14 6:27 PM
Last Updated:3/16/14 6:33 PM
Project Photo:Islander Sewing Systems: 218 by EmeraldErin66

Islander Sewing Systems: 218 by EmeraldErin66  Islander Sewing Systems: 218 by EmeraldErin66  
Pattern Photo:Islander Sewing Systems 218
Islander Sewing Systems Pattern Info

More Info provided by EmeraldErin66

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

'A grown-up version of the blue jean jacket'

Pattern Sizing:

XXS-4X, I made it in size Small

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

It looked exactly like the photo!

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The instructions were very easy and clear- I made this jacket with the accompanying crafsty.com course taught by Janet Pray, where she shows you exactly how to make this jacket step-by-step. The online course was amazing and really informative, and the pattern instructions that come with the pattern were also very clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I love everything about this pattern, I love the casual fit and the welt pockets in the front, as well as all the seam lines and topstitching.

Fabric Used:

Light-weight, non-stretch denim & patterned cotton chintz for the yokes and inside cuffs.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I lengthened the sleeves by 2 1/2 inches.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I'm already planning my next one out of a brighter fabric! I would recommend this to anyone, even beginner sewers because you can learn a lot of techniques from this jacket but it's very clear- especially when you take the craftsy course.

Conclusion:

I thought this was great and I'm excited to wear it this spring!! I did a longer and more detailed post about this on my blog -with more pictures!

Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmry said...
It looks great on you, well done I love your blog too! Mary M
3/16/14 6:33 PM
Dilliander said...
Beautifully sewn and fun photos, an emphatic success by all accounts :)
3/16/14 7:32 PM
Jrhee said...
Really cool jacket!
3/16/14 9:14 PM
nothy lane said...
Great jacket. Really nicely made. I like the contrasting yoke.
3/16/14 9:33 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your jacket. I love the fabric choice you made, with the print for the yoke & cuffs.
3/17/14 6:37 AM
Sewingmi said...
Great jacket!
3/17/14 7:25 AM
Annette Wright said...
Cute cute! Love the contrasting fabrics.
3/17/14 7:28 AM
ASiverson said...
beautiful jacket and looks like it fits you so well! TFS! I too have enrolled in this class on Craftsy.
3/17/14 10:39 AM
Patti B said...
What a lovely job you did. You've encouraged me to actually view this class and drag out the pattern!
3/17/14 11:30 AM
sunnysewer said...
fantastic, great sewing. very cute on you.
3/17/14 2:27 PM
KariLouMc said...
Hi, I bought the pattern but my instructions are not clear about whether the fabric layout should be right sides together, and in the video Janet cuts pieces with WRONG sides together. The booklet gives color-coded instructions on right/wrong side, everywhere but layout, which is in grayscale. Did you layout with right sides together? Thank you!
3/20/14 3:03 AM
EmeraldErin66 said...
Hi KariLouMc, I did the layout with wrong sides together- I chose that way so I could see the right side of the fabric and make sure that there weren't any imperfections on it. She doesn't explicitly state to cut it out this way, but that's how she does it in the video and that's how I prefer to do it too! Hope that helps!
3/20/14 8:35 AM
VintageTempest said...
I love the yoke contrast. Makes it very girly. Looks great!
5/3/14 1:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 6041

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now