SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6019 

2 more reviews
Viewed 279 times 
Reviewed by:Bex81
photo

 
 
About Bex81star
Member since: 4/29/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/14 10:21 PM
Last Updated:3/16/14 10:32 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 6019 by Bex81

Butterick: 6019 by Bex81  Butterick: 6019 by Bex81  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 6019
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by Bex81

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Dress has close-fitting, self-lined, boned bodice with bra, princess seams, bias band, elasticized side back, skirt variations, and back zipper. Separate pattern pieces are included for cup sizes A/B, C, D.

Size:
D-cup, 16 bodice graded out to a 20 hip.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Not in my opinion! I don't think the instructions were written very well. A lot of the instructions are counter-intuitive to an experienced sewer, and I still can't figure out why I was asked to do certain things.

What did you particularly like about the pattern?
I liked the different bra cup sizes available, and the shirring.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
- Only two bits of boning to hold up a D-cup? Really?
- I also think the skirt split is a bit revealing.
- I had to unpick certain parts (the skirt + bodice, the sash etc) and re-sew a few times to get the fit or shape right.

Fabric Used:
Indigenous hand-printed cotton from the Babbarra Women's Centre. Pattern matching was pretty tricky!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- Lengthened the skirt by two inches.
- Added crossover straps.
- Sway back adjustment.
- Disregarded the envelope size charts, and went by finished measurements instead.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Hmm maybe. I wouldnt recommend this pattern to novice sewers, it was really fiddly and time consuming (possible the hardest thing I have ever sewn). It took a lot of re-work to get the fit 100% right.

Conclusion:
If you've been thinking of sewing this pattern, definitely give it a go but don't get down-hearted if it's a bit of a struggle. Unpick, resew, keep going - you'll have a killer dress in the end.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
I love this dress! You did an excellent job matching the pattern on the fabric. Wow, a lot of work went into this dress. Nice job
3/16/14 11:17 PM
Baja Susana said...
Love it! Wonderful fabric, and excellent matching job.
3/16/14 11:42 PM
DaisyA said...
fantastic dress. it looks like it was well worth the time and effort.
3/17/14 1:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love the dress! This style is so cute and looks terrific on you.
3/17/14 8:13 AM
MissyBelle said...
Fantastic dress!
3/18/14 0:17 AM
Lindablue said...
Thanks for the review. I love that print, are you holding extra in your hand?
3/25/14 1:13 AM
carolineG said...
Nice work - I definitely want to make version of this dress. Yours is beautiful.
5/1/14 5:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now