SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6019 

2 more reviews
Viewed 264 times 
Reviewed by:Bex81
photo

 
 
About Bex81star
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/29/08
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/14 10:21 PM
Last Updated:3/16/14 10:32 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 6019 by Bex81

Butterick: 6019 by Bex81  Butterick: 6019 by Bex81  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 6019
Butterick Pattern Info

More Info provided by Bex81

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Dress has close-fitting, self-lined, boned bodice with bra, princess seams, bias band, elasticized side back, skirt variations, and back zipper. Separate pattern pieces are included for cup sizes A/B, C, D.

Size:
D-cup, 16 bodice graded out to a 20 hip.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Not in my opinion! I don't think the instructions were written very well. A lot of the instructions are counter-intuitive to an experienced sewer, and I still can't figure out why I was asked to do certain things.

What did you particularly like about the pattern?
I liked the different bra cup sizes available, and the shirring.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
- Only two bits of boning to hold up a D-cup? Really?
- I also think the skirt split is a bit revealing.
- I had to unpick certain parts (the skirt + bodice, the sash etc) and re-sew a few times to get the fit or shape right.

Fabric Used:
Indigenous hand-printed cotton from the Babbarra Women's Centre. Pattern matching was pretty tricky!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
- Lengthened the skirt by two inches.
- Added crossover straps.
- Sway back adjustment.
- Disregarded the envelope size charts, and went by finished measurements instead.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Hmm maybe. I wouldnt recommend this pattern to novice sewers, it was really fiddly and time consuming (possible the hardest thing I have ever sewn). It took a lot of re-work to get the fit 100% right.

Conclusion:
If you've been thinking of sewing this pattern, definitely give it a go but don't get down-hearted if it's a bit of a struggle. Unpick, resew, keep going - you'll have a killer dress in the end.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
I love this dress! You did an excellent job matching the pattern on the fabric. Wow, a lot of work went into this dress. Nice job
3/16/14 11:17 PM
Baja Susana said...
Love it! Wonderful fabric, and excellent matching job.
3/16/14 11:42 PM
DaisyA said...
fantastic dress. it looks like it was well worth the time and effort.
3/17/14 1:32 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love the dress! This style is so cute and looks terrific on you.
3/17/14 8:13 AM
MissyBelle said...
Fantastic dress!
3/18/14 0:17 AM
Lindablue said...
Thanks for the review. I love that print, are you holding extra in your hand?
3/25/14 1:13 AM
carolineG said...
Nice work - I definitely want to make version of this dress. Yours is beautiful.
5/1/14 5:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6915

photo
by: waikikimum

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now