SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4976 

8 more reviews
Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Good
photo

 
 
About Sew Goodstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/14 9:21 PM
Last Updated:3/17/14 9:25 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 4976 by Sew Good

Butterick: 4976 by Sew Good  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Sew Good

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Never too sick to sew...

Came home from work miserable. Took some Robitussin and started cutting. Three hours later, I'm finished and feeling much better.

Although other reviewers stated this pattern ran a size large, I had to make the 8 anyway because it was the smallest size in the multi-sized pattern and I was not in the right frame of mind to alter the pieces or make a muslin. So, I sewed the entire dress together but basted the sides, tried it on, marked and shaped the waist, then serged the final side seams.

The past reviewers were correct. The pattern is one size too big, the shoulders are too wide and the sleeve cap too full. I adjusted the sleeves before I finished the side seams but I could have corrected it a bit more.

I left off the sash because, 1) I only had two yards of fabric and 2) I don't like attached belts because it makes machine washing difficult plus it limits the look of the dress.

I used my usual methods of serging the sleeves flat and adding clear elastic to the cuffs, neckline, shoulder seams, and waist. I excluded the zipper and made a 1 inch him. Tall people beware!

Other reviewers stated the sleeves were too loose. They were loose and I like them loose on this dress but I could have done a better job finishing the cuffs. I sewed the neckline closed so I could wear it to work and not scare my co-workers.

I can honestly say, I will make this dress again. My youngest daughter instantly loved it (she is my best critique and photographer) and it made me smile when I put it on (and I feel rotten so that's saying a lot).

When I make it again, I will alter the pattern first (especially the shoulders and waist) and I will make an adjustment above the bust because I noticed a few diagonal wrinkles coming from the bust to the mid shoulder area.

I would recommend this dress and hope you can make a size smaller without having to alter your pattern pieces.

I love the a-line skirt. I feel pretty when I walk and is swooshes.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gilberta said...
Beautiful fabric and fit~
3/17/14 10:09 PM
LPGA said...
SewGood, who knew that taking Robitussin for a bad cold might cause someone to sew a gorgeous dress in just 3 hours! You did a great job and the fabric is so nice ! Thanks for this well detailed review !
3/18/14 1:42 AM
LlanoGirl said...
This is beautiful, and I am so impressed that you sewed it while you were sick! Love, love the fabric, and the fit looks great to me!
3/18/14 8:26 AM
beanchor said...
Sewing mends the body and soul. I love your dress. The fit is great. Thanks for a great review.
3/18/14 10:23 AM
Dellia45 said...
Fabric is lovely, Fit is amazing!!!
3/18/14 10:39 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This fits you PERFECTLY. And you have the tiniest waist ever. Get better!
3/18/14 10:48 AM
Christine K said...
Beautifully sewn. I wish I had read your review and the reviews of others before sewing. I think the primary reason why I'm not thrilled with my dress from this pattern is that it is too big all over. So maybe it wasn't my inexperience with sewing knits? Your review makes me want to try it again, but using a smaller size. P.S. I agree with the other reviewers--the fabric you used is gorgeous.
5/24/14 4:30 PM
Sew Good said...
Thank you Christine K I hope you do try again. I got my fabric at Michael Levine. It is a textured ITY jersey
6/17/14 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now