SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB013CB 

15 more reviews
Viewed 1934 times 
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarmenGstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/05 7:19 PM
Last Updated:6/12/05 7:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
What a nice and beautiful birthday gift.The fabric with the matching lining is a great find, thanks for the review.
6/12/05 7:31 PM
deetlebug said...
Very good and helpful review. Thanks for all the details. Your bag turned out very cute.
6/12/05 7:35 PM
Peggy L said...
Excellent review and beautiful bag and accessories. Your topstitching is beautiful.
6/12/05 7:45 PM
drsue said...
I'm sold! I just love your purse. Where did you get that fabric? Leah's?
6/12/05 7:47 PM
KarmenG said...
I bought the fabric a local quilt store called Cozy Cottage Fabrics in Brea, Calif www.cozycottagefabrics.com
6/12/05 10:27 PM
sheree said...
Love your bag and the accessories. Thanks for the very helpful review, I think I'll have to make this!
6/12/05 11:20 PM
keric said...
Love the purse! I'm in love with Amy Butler's patterns and fabric, although I haven't used any yet! I'm definitely going to have to order one (and some of her fabric, too)!
6/13/05 0:19 AM
KarenP said...
Very helpful! Especially the information about using Wonder Under to avoid having to topstitch twice. I was not happy about doing that, but saw no other way. Where do you get Wonder Under?
6/13/05 0:28 AM
tigger said...
This is such a great bag - and a wonderful review! I love making bags and am always looking for the next one to try - thanks!
6/13/05 4:12 AM
KarmenG said...
Karen P - You can buy Wonder Under at JoAnn's in the interfacing section. It's sold by the yard. I also used it to fuse the opening at the top after turning the bag right side out.
6/13/05 7:24 AM
BjP said...
Love your fabric choices and this sounds like a really good pattern. Thanks for the detailed and helpful review!
6/13/05 7:44 AM
melgosews said...
Thank you for the introduction (for me anyways) to this line of purse patterns and all of the details. They have a new customer. Great bag! Could you tell me about the striped tape(?) you used on to mark the opening?
6/13/05 8:17 AM
KarmenG said...
That tape is called Tiger or Tigger tape I think. I bought it from Nancy's Notions or Clotilde. The lines are marked to use as a guide for even stitching when embellishing or hand stitching. It doesn't mark the fabric.
6/13/05 8:56 AM
Deepika said...
Very nice bag! Thanks for all the tips too.
6/13/05 12:48 PM
lazylol said...
Excellent review - thanks. I love the fabric you used - gorgeous bag!
4/16/06 12:49 PM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
With this review, and a bit of sewing experience, I think that you could probably guess what the actual pattern is all about. I've been thinking about purchasing this pattern and will keep on thinking about it. I'm not terribly fond of Amy Butler Designs (It sounds so egotistical, and most of the bags aren't anything I'd like to carry about.) but this one has caught my eye. I'm thinking still about purchasing this pattern.
3/27/08 6:08 PM
tabgrl said...
Thanks for the info on the handle...this helps alot!
1/6/10 1:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5639

photo
by: nickelc624

Review
Simplicity Sew U skirt

photo
by: reformfabr...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now