Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB013CB thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1934 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR
About KarmenGstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/05 7:19 PM
Last Updated:6/12/05 7:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
What a nice and beautiful birthday gift.The fabric with the matching lining is a great find, thanks for the review.
6/12/05 7:31 PM
deetlebug said...
Very good and helpful review. Thanks for all the details. Your bag turned out very cute.
6/12/05 7:35 PM
Peggy L said...
Excellent review and beautiful bag and accessories. Your topstitching is beautiful.
6/12/05 7:45 PM
drsue said...
I'm sold! I just love your purse. Where did you get that fabric? Leah's?
6/12/05 7:47 PM
KarmenG said...
I bought the fabric a local quilt store called Cozy Cottage Fabrics in Brea, Calif www.cozycottagefabrics.com
6/12/05 10:27 PM
sheree said...
Love your bag and the accessories. Thanks for the very helpful review, I think I'll have to make this!
6/12/05 11:20 PM
keric said...
Love the purse! I'm in love with Amy Butler's patterns and fabric, although I haven't used any yet! I'm definitely going to have to order one (and some of her fabric, too)!
6/13/05 0:19 AM
KarenP said...
Very helpful! Especially the information about using Wonder Under to avoid having to topstitch twice. I was not happy about doing that, but saw no other way. Where do you get Wonder Under?
6/13/05 0:28 AM
tigger said...
This is such a great bag - and a wonderful review! I love making bags and am always looking for the next one to try - thanks!
6/13/05 4:12 AM
KarmenG said...
Karen P - You can buy Wonder Under at JoAnn's in the interfacing section. It's sold by the yard. I also used it to fuse the opening at the top after turning the bag right side out.
6/13/05 7:24 AM
BjP said...
Love your fabric choices and this sounds like a really good pattern. Thanks for the detailed and helpful review!
6/13/05 7:44 AM
melgosews said...
Thank you for the introduction (for me anyways) to this line of purse patterns and all of the details. They have a new customer. Great bag! Could you tell me about the striped tape(?) you used on to mark the opening?
6/13/05 8:17 AM
KarmenG said...
That tape is called Tiger or Tigger tape I think. I bought it from Nancy's Notions or Clotilde. The lines are marked to use as a guide for even stitching when embellishing or hand stitching. It doesn't mark the fabric.
6/13/05 8:56 AM
Deepika said...
Very nice bag! Thanks for all the tips too.
6/13/05 12:48 PM
lazylol said...
Excellent review - thanks. I love the fabric you used - gorgeous bag!
4/16/06 12:49 PM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
With this review, and a bit of sewing experience, I think that you could probably guess what the actual pattern is all about. I've been thinking about purchasing this pattern and will keep on thinking about it. I'm not terribly fond of Amy Butler Designs (It sounds so egotistical, and most of the bags aren't anything I'd like to carry about.) but this one has caught my eye. I'm thinking still about purchasing this pattern.
3/27/08 6:08 PM
tabgrl said...
Thanks for the info on the handle...this helps alot!
1/6/10 1:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

New Look 6071
photo
Review by atymonw on 3/22/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Natalie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5791
photo
Review by katiessewi... on 10/19/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0168 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us