SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 8408 

Viewed 168 times 
Reviewed by:rosiewednesday
photo

 
 
About rosiewednesdaystar
TX USA
Member since: 3/27/13
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/14 1:33 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 8408 by rosiewednesday

Butterick: 8408 by rosiewednesday  Butterick: 8408 by rosiewednesday  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by rosiewednesday

Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Short-sleeve dress with gathered skirt, trim at neck and waist and bows! Wonderful bows!

Pattern Sizing:
I started with a 16, graded it up to an 18, and then made modifications.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Completely! I match View B!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, although there were some interesting details to this dress I didn't expect. The main one was that the zipper was inserted into a dart at the side, and the seams were positioned at the front of the dress.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the style of it, and it's very comfortable to wear. I liked trying the zipper technique, but I wouldn't do it again in the future. A lot of extra fuss when you could just have a side seam there.

Fabric Used:
Linen

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Too many to list here, honestly. I graded up by following a tutorial from Thread's, then I made a series of other adjustments over 2 muslins, such as FBA, broad back, forward shoulder, etc. I feel I over-fit a bit, as the bodice is a bit bigger than it needs to be.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'd like to try version A, although I would change how the skirt is constructed and just introduce side seams.

Conclusion:
Really fun pattern! I wore this first to Dapper Day, a vintage-themed event at Walt Disney World's Magic Kingdom. See more photos and construction details on my blog, Rosie Wednesday: Adventures in Vintage-Style Sewing
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
So cute!
3/18/14 2:02 PM
Hilary said...
Your dress is really adorable! Love the red with the white bows, and you did a great job! Looks so cute on you!
3/18/14 4:50 PM
Chococat said...
Cute! I like the bow at the neckline, it's adorable!
3/18/14 5:53 PM
rosiewednesday said...
Thanks all!
3/19/14 12:31 PM
sewingcanary said...
Hi Rosie! What a “rosie” dress! Side zips were the way they used to make dresses. It’s easier to do up a side zip than a back zip especially if a dress is fitted. All my mother’s 1950s dresses had side zips. I think back zips were a 60’s thing. Even with the salt tip, be careful with the red. Sometimes they set and sometimes they bleed later and long, or with change in detergent brands. Today’s dyes are better than they used to be. You will love the linen! Many don’t have patience for it to reach its prime. One day you’ll take it out of the dryer and say, “Ooo. I don’t need to iron this anymore”. Have fun!
3/19/14 3:10 PM
sewingcanary said...
PS re pattern grading. I misfiled the url, but poke around on the web. There are some good charts that give all the dimension differences of complete dresses and slacks – in more detail than Threads’ article. They show the locations of all the splits and all the various little increments. You can also find them in some of the old sewing books from the 60s and earlier. Once you have the difference increments, the only rocket science is in deciding how much ease you want based on era and personal comfort levels etc..
3/19/14 3:25 PM
rosiewednesday said...
Sewingcanary - Thanks for the tips! I've seen loads of side zips before, but never one in a dart, which seemed odd to me. I didn't know that was a common way to do things. I didn't realize that about the linen either! Now that you say that, I realize I have some dresses that I have practically worn to death that are linen,and I don't iron them anymore. That's so neat.
3/20/14 11:49 AM
KamiSue2 said...
I ADORE your dress! So cute! I would wear that everyday. Okay, maybe not. But I would want to. I'm impressed at all the adjustments you made, it turned out fabulous.
3/21/14 11:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
Simplicity 2370

photo
by: marec

Review
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now