SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 8408 

Viewed 174 times 
Reviewed by:rosiewednesday
photo

 
 
About rosiewednesdaystar
TX USA
Member since: 3/27/13
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/14 1:33 PM


Butterick: 8408 by rosiewednesday  Butterick: 8408 by rosiewednesday  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KamiSue2 said...
I ADORE your dress! So cute! I would wear that everyday. Okay, maybe not. But I would want to. I'm impressed at all the adjustments you made, it turned out fabulous.
3/21/14 11:06 PM
rosiewednesday said...
Sewingcanary - Thanks for the tips! I've seen loads of side zips before, but never one in a dart, which seemed odd to me. I didn't know that was a common way to do things. I didn't realize that about the linen either! Now that you say that, I realize I have some dresses that I have practically worn to death that are linen,and I don't iron them anymore. That's so neat.
3/20/14 11:49 AM
sewingcanary said...
PS re pattern grading. I misfiled the url, but poke around on the web. There are some good charts that give all the dimension differences of complete dresses and slacks – in more detail than Threads’ article. They show the locations of all the splits and all the various little increments. You can also find them in some of the old sewing books from the 60s and earlier. Once you have the difference increments, the only rocket science is in deciding how much ease you want based on era and personal comfort levels etc..
3/19/14 3:25 PM
sewingcanary said...
Hi Rosie! What a “rosie” dress! Side zips were the way they used to make dresses. It’s easier to do up a side zip than a back zip especially if a dress is fitted. All my mother’s 1950s dresses had side zips. I think back zips were a 60’s thing. Even with the salt tip, be careful with the red. Sometimes they set and sometimes they bleed later and long, or with change in detergent brands. Today’s dyes are better than they used to be. You will love the linen! Many don’t have patience for it to reach its prime. One day you’ll take it out of the dryer and say, “Ooo. I don’t need to iron this anymore”. Have fun!
3/19/14 3:10 PM
rosiewednesday said...
Thanks all!
3/19/14 12:31 PM
Chococat said...
Cute! I like the bow at the neckline, it's adorable!
3/18/14 5:53 PM
Hilary said...
Your dress is really adorable! Love the red with the white bows, and you did a great job! Looks so cute on you!
3/18/14 4:50 PM
sewtime said...
So cute!
3/18/14 2:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4969

photo
by: bonjones

Review
McCall's 6391

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now