SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8962 

6 more reviews
Viewed 248 times 
Reviewed by:sanad
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sanad
NC USA
Member since: 3/11/10
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/14 8:38 PM
Last Updated:3/18/14 8:51 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8962 by sanad

Vogue Patterns: 8962 by sanad  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8962
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Matelasse  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Pullover top has yoke back, bias back extending to side front, no side seams, and shaped hemline, wrong side shows. Skirt has elasticized waist and back slit. All are close-fitting, and have stitched hems.

Pattern Sizing:
I made the tunic in size 8 and the skirt in size 12. The top fit well, and I did not bother to do much to the skirt besides to shorten it, since it has an elastic waist and is unlikely to be seen other than peeking out from under the tunic. The ensemble is described as close-fitting, which I would say is true only of the skirt.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, the whole thing went together easily and mostly according to the instructions. I recently completed "Sewing with Knits" on Craftsy and was able to apply some of the wonderful techniques from that class in this project, including pressing and bonding the hem prior to cover stitching, which really improved my results. I also adjusted the differential to keep the seams from stretching out while overlocking. The waistband finishing instructions seemed fussy and would have resulted in a messy unfinished edge on the inside at the bottom edge of the waistband. Instead, I serged the edge and folded it over with the elastic inside to make the casing and place the elastic in one step.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I was attracted to the pattern for the way stripes could be used to draw attention to the design. With the matelasse, the collar is very thick and full, which was unexpected but now appreciated. It is almost like a built-in scarf.


Fabric Used:
I used a 95 polyester/5 spandex 2 ply matelasse knit from Emma One Sock, in both paprika and graphite. I machine washed and dried the pieces before cutting so that the finished products would be easy to care for with no surprises. The fabric held up beautifully.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I eliminated the back slit from the skirt; I thought it would be short and stretchy enough to make it unnecessary.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
As a matter of fact, I made a graphic version of the top for my daughter at the same time. Hoping to get a photo of that one posted soon, too.

Conclusion:
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Good said...
Lovely colors. I like Matelasse but haven't sewn it in years. Nicely done :)
3/18/14 9:27 PM
AnneM said...
Love this in your fabric; it is a great alternative. The vertical lines in the fabric also make it interesting. You top looks great, very nicely finished.
3/19/14 6:25 AM
VivianZ said...
Great outfit. I like this pattern top for the seams in the back, and I like the similar patterned but different colors for the pieces.
3/19/14 8:42 AM
marusya grace said...
Very nice knit fabric! I also like the stripes and the side stripes cut in a different direction. Beautiful work!
3/19/14 4:44 PM
threaddy said...
Excellent review. I love the shape of the top as it drops down at the back. Thank you..
3/20/14 9:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8594

photo
by: blessedtos...

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now